Own or manage a vacation home? We can help!
    Click here to login | Smartphone?
Search or listing #:
Browse > Europe > Greece Vacation Rentals
VRconnection#1653

Vacation Rental Photos
Relax or d...Living roo...
Two twin b...Main floor...
Enjoy the ...Mt Lykavet...

Athens First Duplex Penthouse


Europe/Greece/Athens Vacation Rental


3 bedroom, 2 bath vacation apartment sleeps 8


Comments From Guests of AthensFirstDuplex

"We stayed in the new apartment, Acropolis View L, from May 26 to 30, 2013. The apartment is very spacious, clean, modern, and comfortable. The view is magnificent: the Acropolis and Aegean Sea are right in front of you if you walk out to the enormous veranda that wraps around the apartment. Carole is an invaluable hostess. Meeting her was worth the trip. Our plans had changed due to a family emergency and we arrived to Athens without any idea where we are going to go and what to see. On our arrival Carole spent almost 2 hours with us planning every detail of our stay. She immediately arranged for a driver and a guide, worked out a detailed walk around Athens and had tons of recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants. People she works with - driver Nick, housekeeper Nadia, guide Mariza - are highly professional and knowledgeable. We are especially grateful to Nick who took us on a day trip to Delphi and another one to Argolith and also from and to the airport. Nick is very tactful, sincere, modest, and fun to be around. Athens will forever stay in our memory as a hospitable and friendly city because of Carole and the people we met thanks to her. THANK YOU, CAROLE!" - Anonymous, 06/01/13(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"My family of 8 adults were absolutely in awe with Alpha A and B. We had the top two floors of the building and were amazed at the facilities. Everything was spotless, the beds were very comfortable and the view of the Acropolis and Mt Lycebettus (sp???) were stunning. Carol was the perfect host/owner and her suggestions were well received and on the mark (where to shop, eat, bus routes etc). Our driver, Nick really made the 8 days a vacation to remember. He was very knowledgeable about Greece and its history and was willing to go the extra mile to make our stay special. Our visit to Carol's favorite restaurant (O Kosta's) was a real treat and the food was fabulous. We all loved the neighborhood---no tourists to speak of---just your everyday Greek. We felt as if we were locals. It was great to shop where locals shopped and ate,and felt as if we belonged. The people were most accommodating, pleasant and easy to communicate with. Without any doubt we would gladly return to Greece and be excited to stay in the same place again. Everyone treated us well and we loved the atmosphere and flavor of Athens. Thanks to all her made this a most memorable vacation. Yasou!!" - Stephen Diomandes, Newport, R.I. USA, 03/29/13(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"2 (very different)apartments reviewed here. A fantastic stay over New Year. We spent the first half of our time in Lykavettos View, a quiet side street, luxury apartment with EVERY facility you could think of, absolutely perfect! The welcome basket, toiletries, linens & towels, all great & it really did feel like 'home' as soon as we walked in! The information provided by Carole is amazing, I know Athens well, but it was a bonus to have the local insight to the immediate area of the apartment. I thought the range of information was useful for everyone, from the first time visitor, to regulars like myself. For the second half of our stay we were in Acropolis 3, Carole's budget apartment. What can I say, fantastic space, clean & comfortable, more basic than the other one, as you would expect, but still with facilities such as washer & internet access. Another difference is that it is on Immittou, busy, bustling & wonderful to watch the general buzz from the balcony! This place is fantastic value for money. I loved both apartments & both locations, really great to have complete contrasts to choose from, something for everyone in a great area of a wonderful city! " - Sally, Messinia, 01/13/13(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Incredible, delightful, helpful, useful, beautiful, spacious! All of these words do not adequately describe the beautiful home setting that Carole and Basil have created for their visitors to Athens. I am an experienced traveler that has stayed in the cheapest to the expensive. I have planned trips myself and I have used travel agents. I have used many online service to find those special places for my two girls (4 & 8) and my husband. The four of us are not hard to please but easy to spoil. By far this is the best online experience I have had in the last two years of traveling. When I found the accommodations provided by the Kezios I didn't realize I wasn't just renting a space for my family (six of us in our group included my mom and dad) but I was about to embark on an experience of a life time. Our apartment was beautifully decorated and very functional for our family. I don't know how many times I have rented an apartment with Satellite only to realize that no one knew how to work it or find English channels to watch. We had a fully stocked ready to start feeding our hungry family kitchen including a welcome basket of goodies and treats. It was nice not to have to drag a computer with us as one was provided for our stay. Also in the apartment were guide books, everyone in the neighborhood knew the owners of our apartment and the store was literally right across the street. The beds are to die for and every night we were so tired and the beds just hugged us good night. Carole takes a lot of pride in knowing Athens and it is apparent in her offerings and recommendation. I have been working at planning several of our family vacations and I just needed someone to make my family vacation happen for me. I gave Carole our specifics about our family, likes and dislikes and said she should take charge of what we should do during our stay. The week prior to arriving we exchanged emails and we began the final plans for our arrival. We had airport pick up arranged by Carole, we arrived at the apartment and was met by the housekeeper and given a tour of the facilities. Then I revealed the weeks itinerary planned by Carole. Everyday I would receive a new or updated plan as Carole watched the weather and made recommendations based on sunny days. Now this in itself is full service but she did all this from the States. Carole was able to put together a wonderful day of Greek cooking in the Apartment with a wonderful pastry chef published in one of Greece's cooking magazines. Nick our driver also recommended by our hosts, took us on two day trips and was our airport connection. I cannot say enough about how he made sure our family was comfortable and even helped my parents with a little restaurant get away while we played on the beach. You would be crazy not to stay here and be well cared for by Carole and her friends" - MichelleS, Slavutich, Ukraine, 10/01/12(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"My extended family stayed at Heritage House in September of 2011. The owners could not have been more helpful, advising us of local shopping and restaurants. The location is excellent; very close to "cafe row", as well as close to metro stop. I would definitely recommend Heritage House to others." - Nan Stewart, 11/21/11(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Perfect - our stay at Lykavitos View was wonderful. The apartment was spacious, with every convenience - good coffee pot, fridge, the works. Even the towels were fluffy, and the washer came in handy. MOST of all - we loved the balcony on a surprisingly quiet street- sitting out drinking wine and eating cheese in the evening - heaven. And wonderful little restaurants to explore and the yummiest bakery about 2 blocks away. Carole and Basel could not have done more to make our visit pleasant- be sure to have them recommend some day outings with a driver. We are absolutely, definitely, positively satisfied, and coming back soon we hope." - Linda, Raleigh, NC, 11/15/11(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Wow. Great location. Great place. You are in the heart of old and the new. The pedestrian walkway is only a block and a half from the apartment. It is a wonderful neighborhood. Great Restuarants. Owners very nice and accomodating. Easy access to subway. Carol is priceless. Let her arrange drivers and a tour or two. She must have a gift for finding remarkable friendly drivers and people. She definately knows how to make folks feel at home in a foreign country. Xenis and Babis are terrific. Loved sitting on the patio and hearing the sounds of the neighborhood. We had a wonderful time in Athens. Location is great for walking to Acropolis and many other remarkable sites. Do yourself a favor and rent the heritage house if you find yourself going to Athens." - Patty Taylor, San Antonio, TX 78255, 09/13/11(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We stayed at the Heritage House and loved it! The hosts were fabulous and the property was so close to the Acropolis, dining, shopping and the train station. Our accommodations were very nice and supplied with everything we needed. We would definitely recommend this property." - Christie & family, Greenwood, MS, 08/22/11(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We stayed at the heritage House and loved the location, the house, the courtyard and the owner, Xenia (Babis was away!) We could not have been happier. We had perfect weather while we were there so were off exploring much of the time. Carole, your suggestions for Athens and the surrounding area were exhaustive and excellent, Xenia, your helpfulness with reservations was above and beyond. We were so happy to have found this lovely place." - Gillian, 08/04/11(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We stayed in Acropolis Blue and had a wonderful time. The location is great, the amenities in the apartment are plentiful, and Carol had so much information that our trip was easy. We are a family of 4, and our kids loved the area and the walk to the major attractions. Thanks for a great rental!" - Rachel, EHT, NJ, 05/15/11(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"My family and I so enjoyed our stay at the Athens First Luxury apartment. For a week, we lived like Athenians. The Pagrati neighborhood in Athens is quite residential and non-touristy. That said, there were plenty of restaurants, newspaper stands and stores to make the area interesting and convenient. The apartment has a lovely balcony and the kitchen is fully equipped. We had three adults and two children and it was a cozy, yet comfortable situation." - Susan, Minnesota, 04/26/11(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"This place is a gem, located in the most ideal spot possible with plenty of room (and the largest clawfoot tub I've ever experienced!), as well as the warmth of informative and friendly neighbors who are eager to share insights and offer suggestions. I hope we will be able to return many times in the future! " - Lydia, New York, NY, 04/17/11(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Each year after a London business trip my colleagues and I travel to a new country to experience the culture and learn more about the people of that region. There is no better way than to stay in an apartment in a residential section of the city! Staying in one of Carole’s apartments in Athens is second to none! While the apartment itself was outstanding with all the comforts of home (especially the plush bath towels… much better than a 5-star hotel) what separated Carole’s apartment from all the rest I’ve rented was, well, Carole. The 40+ page PDF detailing the ins and outs of Athens is just a starter. Carole makes herself available to you for what feels like 24x7! The insights into the off-the-beaten-track spots to eat were top shelf. It was the best, most authentic Greek meals served by the nicest locals. Oh, and when I could not figure out how to activate the heat properly Basil took great care of me from Chicago (Carole happened to be in Athens while I was there… unfortunately we never had a chance to meet in person. Next time.) In a word, this experience was perfect! Thank you, Carole & Basil!" - Marty, Vermont, 03/11/11(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We were a group of 5 friends who stayed at the Lykavettus View apartment from Sept 8-11, 2010. It was the perfect lodging for what we needed in Athens. Carol and Basil have made the place very welcome for us starting with a very generous gift basket. The location is near any type of transport be it the tram, bus or metro and restaurants abound in the area as well as several groceries. We would highly recommend this place for someone looking for a home away from home." - Delza, Manchester, CT, 11/18/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Our family of 5 stayed at the Lycabettus view apartment in May 2010. Our stay was very comfortable - its was a pleasure to be so well informed about the apartment and the local area prior to arriving. We enjoyed walking along the main street and had no problems catching a taxi from there to all the tourist sights. Although most of our time in Athens was spent out of the apartment, it was a lovely place to return to and escape the pushy relatives and street vendors! The internet access was fantastic also. Thanks to Carol for such a easy and well informed booking procedure. Her communication was always prompt and she answered every question more than thouroughly." - Anonymous, 11/01/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"My husband and myself and another couple stayed at the Lykavittos View Apartment for several days after disembarking from a cruise ship. It was an excellent spot to finish our vacation - close enough to walk to the major tourist spots yet in a great neighbourhood where we felt less like tourists. Carole has thought through all the small details that make traveling easier and enjoyable. We thoroughly enjoyed her recommendations for neighbourhood restaurants and shopping. The apartment was the perfect place to end each day." - Anonymous, 10/15/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We are a family of 8 who stayed at this apartment in August. It was a beautiful place, she has obviously put a lot of thought and effort into making it comfortable for guests. Her personal touches really made us feel at home." - Anonymous, 10/04/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We are a group of 7 livelong mail friends traveling together once a year. The flat wad perfect for us to live in and to do the sightseeing in and around Athen that we wanted. We walked and travelled with the Metro to reach the targts in town e.g. Syntagma, National Garden, Acropolis and also outside town as Aegina and Hydra. The flat were conviniet for seven older boys from Norway. " - Tollef Høgås, Torød/Norway, 09/29/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We stayed in one of the Acropolis view apartments and had a wonderful time. The apartment was well furnished and we appreciated having free WiFi and free phone service back to the US. Carole did a great job lining us up with a driver for a day trip and airport service and all the dos and don'ts of Athens. We would highly recommend her apartments." - Tom Mehlberg, Palos Verdes California, 09/28/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Our Acropolis View Beta apartment was extremely comfortable for the 4 of us traveling to Athens in June. Beyond, all of the comforts of home, Carole and Basil went out of their way to make sure we were well informed and well taken care of. The wonderful accommodations only enhanced the entire vacation experience. I would not hesitate recommending Carole and Basil to any of my friends. We will return to Athens soon and we know where we will stay again." - Teresa Dahlem, Centerville, MN, 08/16/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We had a wonderful family vacation with our two kids. The apartment was great and Carole did everything very easy for us." - Wilfredo and Mayra, St Petersburg, FL, 08/15/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We are a family with 5 children and travel all over the world. We usually rent private homes and apts whenever possible. Of all the places we have stayed in, this one was the most welcoming. It was well equipped (did not have to limit oneself to the "one assigned towel per person" scenario, nor did we have to run out immediately to buy the basic amenities to be able to make it through the day. We had what we needed and felt very much at home. What was outstanding however, and what lacks in most vacation rentals all over the world is the "concierge" type of service that Carole and Basil offer. This was unprecedented. We were fortunate that they were in Athens at the time, however I am certain that if they were abroad they would only be a phone call away. They have a wealth of information at their fingertips. I really felt like we were visiting friends and they were genuinely interested in our time in Athens not just our time in their apt. Wonderful - hats off to them! " - Anonymous, Bermuda, 07/26/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We had a simply marvelous time staying in the Athens First apartment. Thank you to Carole and Basil for their incredible hospitablity. Between the comfort of the apartment, the restaurant recommendations, and readily available help - it made the first part of our unbelievable trip to Greece (Athens, Santorini & Crete) absolutely wonderful. " - Adam, Texas/Netherlands, 07/16/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We loved the apartment - I forgot the exact name - as well as the neighborhood and all Carol's suggestions about foods and shops. My whole family would gladly stay in one of Carol's apartments again. It was a very friendly and interesting way to enoy the city." - Jim Hartman, New York City, 07/16/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"The Heritage House is a wonderful place to vacation in Athens. Such a short walk to the antiquities (especially the acropolis), museums, shops, restaurants and cafes. The Heritage houe is well appointed and has all the amenities travelers need. The welcome basket was much appreciated and we discovered the same wine in the market (amd purchased several more bottles). Carol's help with pointing out the market, bakery, restaurants, etc. was truely appreciated and made a marked difference over other VRBO places we have used. We appreciated being picked up by Yannis at the airport which eliminated our "first time jitters" in visiting such a large metropolitan area and trying to find transportation. Babbis really made us feel at home and one may be assured that if we ever visit Athens again, we will be staying at the Heritage house for the entire time." - Merlin & Kaye Redfern, Beaufort, SC, 07/05/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We were absolutely thrilled with our stay at the Athens Apartment. It is nicely designed, has great dishes and flatware, comfortable linens, and great appliances--It also has a gorgeous patio in a fabulous location, Also, all your assistance from information regarding neighborhood places to eat and shop, to the lovely bottle of wine you left for us was delightful. We have never leased an apartment on our travels before, BUT THIS WAS JUST A GREAT EXPERIENCE. Again, thank you for everything. " - Susan Allen, Los Angeles, CA, 06/14/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We rented an apartment for mid April for our familys' celebration of our 50th wedding anniversary. Unfortunately, our entire family was impacted by the Iceland volcano. Carole was so considerate and because of a vacancy, was able to move our days and work with us to still enjoy our time. The apartment is spacious, the internet availablity was so important since we were adjusting schedules and plans constantly, and the owners pleasant and helpful. The location is excellent and convenient to the historical areas of Athens. We walked all over and felt very safe even when the city was impacted by strikes. We highly recommend these apartments. " - Ann, St Petersburg, FL, 06/09/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"This apartment became our home away from home during the Iceland volcano eruption in April. We made a last-minute reservation and Carole was absolutely fabulous. This place really did feel like home...excellent through and through. All bedrooms and kitchen were great, had plenty of room to spread out, and the balcony was a favorite. Great neighborhood, everything from grocery stores to parks to restaurants to nightspots...you will feel right at home. We did!" - Jason, Ramstein, Germany, 05/30/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"The Alpha apartment is fantastic and we enjoyed the luxurious accommodations and space. Needless to say, the rooftop balcony and view is magnificent! The apartment is beautifully furnished with comfortable beds and plenty of room for a large group. It was very special for all of us to experience Easter festivities during our visit highlighted by the holiday dinner Carole arranged at a local restaurant. We felt less like tourists and more like an extended family. In my travels, the actual experience often does not match up to the expectation. However, our visit to Athens was more than we could have hoped for. Carole and Basil both helped to make our visit another great travel memory with unparalleled hospitality. We hope to return again." - Anonymous, Philadelphia, PA, 04/12/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Carole What a Great Apartment. We started our holiday in another apartment but the area left much to be desired ! We contacted Carole and she quickly and efficently made Acropolis View Beta avaliable. The apartment was great and we loved the neighbourhood ! The apartment was beautifully equiped and enabled us to entertain Helen's many Greek relatives in style. Pagrati was all we could want in a Athens inner suburb. Great shops, great restaurants and the Tuesday fresh food market was a joy For 10 days (Jan 2010)we lived like Athenians and it was the best holiday we have had in years. The apartment surpassed our expectations and we will stay again Both Helen and I highly recommend AV Beta to anyone considering an Athens holiday David & Helen Brisbane Australia" - David & Helen, Brisbane Australia, 01/26/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"I cannot recommend this apartmetn highly enough. Carol and Basil have VRBO down to a science and are the perfect hosts. The apartment was amazingly comfortable and beautifully set up with great beds and bedding, a wonderful kitchen/great room and everything you could possibly want or need either in the apartment (including computer/WiFi) or in the neighborhood which was jammed with stores, restaurants and cafes for all tastes and budgets. This was the best vacation rental experience I have had by far." - Van Millin, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, 01/13/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Vam estar a Athens First per tres nits, un duplex fantàstic en tots els sentits, però una mica allunyat del Metro i del centre d'Atenes. Com a lloc per viure a partir d'una setmana i amb familia, és perfecte, molt còmode i tranquil, pel poc temps que nosaltres vam estar a Atenes, quedava una mica lluny de tot." - Marta, Manel, Nuria, Alejandros, Europe, Spain, Barcelona, SPR, 01/11/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Carole did a wonderful job making us very comfortable. Having her coordinated driver, Yanni, pick us up and take us to the airport made life easy. My wife, two children ages 8 and 10, are on a 7 week sabatical. It was really nice having a 3 bed room apartment to spread out and to have some meals at 'home'. The flat was spacious. We lived in Paris a few years back for a month, and Carole's apartment was much bigger and the price was better. Very clean. Quick service response on a few minor flat issues(tv and internet) were fixed rapidly. It was nice to walk to the Acropolis the first time, but since we were in Athens a week, we took a taxi to the sites the remainder of the time. The taxi was available 2 minutes from the front door. Market was nearby. Recommend you stay here! Thanks Carole!!" - Paul , Park City, UT USA, 12/16/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Athens First is the place to spend a visit in Athens. Carole & Basil have done an outstanding job making it a very comfortable "home away from home". We spent five days, using Yannis as our driver, and cannot imagine a better holiday." - Larry Wilson, Woonsocket, RI, 11/04/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"My family and I stayed at the Athen's First apartment for the first week in October. There were 7 of us (8 for the firt few days) and the apartment (3bedroom/2bath) was perfect for us. The apartment has everything, and it's in a lovely quiet neighborhood. We spent every evening out on the terrace talking about our sightseeing that day. We also made great use out the having the computer/internet connection available to us to look up restaurants, information on sites we'd seen, etc. The apartment was very clean, and appears to have been completely remodeled in the last few years and was about 2 blocks from a trolly stop that would take you right downtown." - Tonya, 10/26/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We were visiting Athens for the first time with our 3 kids. We loved both the apartment and the neighborhood. The apartment was clean, comfortable, and with all amenities. We genuinely recommend this apartment. Thank you very much Carole and Basil" - Anonymous, Tel Aviv, Israel, 10/25/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Athens First was amazing and wonderful! Who can beat the rooftop deck with the view of the Acropolis and Parthenon at nigh?! So well appointed, great location, and Carole's tips were so great and helpful! You really go the extra mile to your guests and we will definitely come back and stay there again! Efharisto!" - Mary West, Seattle, Wa, 10/02/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"A fantastic apartment with everything you need. The location was perfect, within walking distance to the Acropolis and fantastic restaurants and bars. I will definitely recommend this apartment to my friends and family!" - Carrie Finn, Manchester, UK, 09/21/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We enjoyed our stay in the Athens First Apartment from 8/22-8/27 2009. We were a family of 6, including four kids. We found everything we needed in this lovely, well furnished, and very clean and comfortable apartment. We loved breakfast on the verandah, access to high speed internet, and easy access to everything we needed. It was easy to get to the historic center--- except that everyone was so comfortable they wanted to rest longer in the apartment! Thank you, Carole and Basil, for providing such a wonderful place to stay! I have already recommended this to friends and relatives." - Anonymous, Oregon, USH, 09/04/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Athens Heritage House suited our family of four, including two teenagers, perfectly (and could comfortably have accomadated another two people). It's been finished and furnished beautifully, so feels much more like a home than rental property. I loved the clawfoot tub and the hardwood floors, while the teens were delighted to find WIFI and and iHome! The location in Thisseus about a block and a half from the Metro and pedestrian walkway (and cafe area) is fabulous. The travel and neighborhood tips provided are much better than a guidebook! Best deal around." - Anonymous, Hanoi, Vietnam, 09/03/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We had a great time at Heritage House. It was such a great location that we did not have to take a cab anywhere except to get to the port at the end of our trip. We were traveling with 3 teenage girls and were concerned about staying somewhere we felt comfortable about them exploring on their own. Well, no worries here. It was perfect. Yianni our cab driver was awesome, as was the owner upstairs. Carole was also a pleasure leading up to our trip. Thank you so much, we would definitely recommend Heritage House to a friend, and would love to stay there again. It made our stay in Athens relaxing and comfortable." - Anonymous, 09/02/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Comment Rating: positive Comment Text: Marvellous location in a quiet street but just a few hundred yards from all the ancient sites and the wonderful new Acropolis museum. Staying here made our experience of Athens wonderful. Do watch out on the metro though, I had my wallet stolen going just one stop." - Guy Kitteringham, England, 08/25/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"July 17-22nd 2009, What a magnificient apartment! We were so surprised with the quality of everything in the apartment - couldn't have asked for anything more! And the location was amazing, we walked for miles every day every direction, the city definetely comes alive at night and we loved the atmosphere of all the bars and restaurants. We have already told many of our friends of our wonderful experience and have highly recommended staying at the Heritage House." - Andrea Moody, Melbourne, Australia, 08/22/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We had the best time staying in Carole & Basil's "Acropolis View - Beta" and "Athens First" apartments during our recent trip to Greece! This was our first time traveling to Europe w/ our four children (14, 12, 9 & 7) and father-in-law (who was born in Greece, but hadn't returned in 63 years). The apartments were perfect in every way --spacious, nicely furnished, & updated w/ all the creature comforts necessary for a "home away from home." The location was ideal, too. We felt like tourists by day and locals by night b/c we visited attractions during the day and then had a relaxing dinner at a local taverna near the apartments. Carole's welcome package and recommendations were extremely helpful, and really made our trip so much more relaxing for us. We would highly recommend any of Carole's Athens apartments, and plan to contact her the next time we visit Greece (which our children hope is every year!). Thank you so much, Carole -- You're the BEST!!" - The Galanos Family, St. Petersburg, Florida, 08/14/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We stayed in the Alpha apartment from 7/31/2009 - 8/3/2008 and there were 6 adults and one 12 year old. We used the three bedrooms and sofabed and it worked out perfectly. The apartment is modern, the kitchen was great and having laundry available (we just finished a 12 night cruise) was a huge bonus. We found that being a little off of the main tourist area the prices for food were very inexpensive. The taxi stand was convenient and we ended up buying all we needed at the german drug/grocery store at the mall. There is a greek food shop directly across the street from the apartment and around the corner. Great selection, superb prices; we really stocked up on gifts there and were surprised about their low prices since it looks like an expensive shop. We also bought refrigerated greek appetizers and baked them at home. Highly recommend this in lieu of a hotel." - Terry, San Leandro, CA, 08/13/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We loved Carole's apartment. There were four adults and we found the apartment in perfect shape with everything that we needed. The bedrooms are large, everything is very clean, and the apartment is equipped with up to date appliances. The view to the Acropolis is excellent and in particular we loved the view from the roof-top to the Acropolis. The location gave us an idea of the Athens that the locals experience. We had no problem taking the tram from across the street to the ruins. Above all Carole is absolutely great. Her recommendations and insight were wonderful. We are so grateful for your help Carole. We recommend this apartment with absolutely no hesitation. Ramin Vakilian, CA " - ramin vakilian, Thousand Oaks, CA, 08/06/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We stayed in the apartment for eight days, and we cound not be more pleased. Four adults and two young children fit and slept comfortably in the very modern, updated and well stocked apartment with a wonderful veranda. It is not in a tourist area, but rather a neighborhood of Athenians going about their daily business. However, it is very close to buses, metro, and convenient to all of the places you want to visit. We even went to the beach a couple of days for the kids. Sight-seeing in the day and coming home to your neighborhood and apartment at night was great. We shopped almost daily at the local grocers and bake shops, and primarily cooked breakfast and dinner "at home". Booking something on-line was a little un-nerving, (site unseen), but this apartment is everything Carole and Basil show it to be. Thanks, Robert Bryant, Houston, TX" - Robert Bryant, Houston, TX, 07/29/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"The penthouse was great!! The instructions and information about the surrounding area, transportation service and services were invaluable. The flat had two great verandas, a full kitchen and very comfortable beds! I would highly recommend this over staying in a hotel or other standard form of accommodation. Carol and company were most helpful in every respect. I look forward to having the opportunity to stay again!!!" - Matthew Numer, Halifax, Nova Scotia, 07/22/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Overall the apartment for 6 was great. Enough space in all rooms. Location a real plus close to buses, stores and restaurants. Located in an area where tourist are very, very few since there are no hotels close by. Would recommend this apartment to my best friends." - George J. Karras, Cape Canaveral, Florida, 07/18/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We had the most amazing stay ever! As a large group of University Architecture students, we were looking for a place that our group could all stay together and Carole made that possible. The penthouses were amazing and we lived like royalty. The welcome baskets were a lovely surprise, and the accommodations as a whole were 5 star! I cannot imagine enjoying Athens half as much had we not stayed here. There is no better place to stay in Athens! " - Megan, Wilmette, IL, 06/22/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"The apartment was a great central location to walking to some wonderful restaurants and grocery stores. The tiropita were fantastic in the area and the sweet shop has a deadly deserts including the galatobouriko, almost taste it as I write it. Our relatives and taxis had no trouble finding us as well. I can really recommend the fast boats to the islands as you can do even day trips on them. The apt itself had all the luxuries of being home especially with cable and internet. The only downfall I can make about this place was the building noise across the street, which at times was quite loud in the beginning. Other than that, stay here and find everything at your fingertips. Beds, washer/dryer, kitchen and bathrooms were excellent . Thank you Carole for a wonderful vacation and next time I would love to try another place. Vicki and George Constan" - vicki, denver and san diego, 06/02/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We truly enjoyed our stay in the Alpha Acropolis View apartment. The location was great, the apartment was very nicely furnished and equipped and Carole and Basil were more than helpful." - Patti & Ken, U.S. Virgin Islands, 04/16/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"This site is express the luxury apartments. I also leave in the apartment. i cannot express enough how much I loved being in your apt., and how much I appreciated all your help with information . It was clean, great location and I could not have been happier. Thank you for all your help in construct the apartment. I appreciated to this sites to view all . --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Richard Williams " - richardwilliams, 03/17/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"What an amazing apartment. We traveled in August and stayed for 2 weeks with a 3 year-old and an 80 year-old -- we needed all the comforts and we got them! It was spotless, the a/c worked when and how we needed it to, everything was supplied that we could ever need in the kitchen (and everywhere else), the bedrooms were comfortable and easy to sleep in. It was an all around fantastic place to stay. They represented their home EXACTLY as it was. The veranda was a highlight. We ate meals and practiced music while we were out there...and drank a lot of coffee! We've recommended it to everyone we know. Thank you Carole and Basil." - Alex and Steve, Charlottesville, VA, 02/14/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"The Lykavitos View apartment was just what we needed as a home base for our travels in Greece! My youngest daughter was on her foreign study in Athens since August 2008 and my wife and I came to visit her with my oldest daughter, her fiance, and my youngest daughter's boyfriend. The six of us spent two weeks in the Athens apartment while we took short side trips to the Peloponnese, Central Greece and Crete. It was great to be able to "come home" to the apartment after a busy day or busy side trip and relax. We always had breakfast at the apartment and we went to the farmers market and grocery stores to get food for the nights we decided to eat at home. There was something for everyone, as my wife and I had quiet places to read and with the internet access, stereo, cable television, international telephone calls and ipod dock the kids were able to keep "connected" for the entire trip! Pangrati was a great neighborhood with many restaurants, bakeries and places to shop. We were only a short walk, trolley, bus or metro ride from any of the sites in Athens. It was an adventure and a terrific vacation. Steve" - Steve, Dearborn, MI, 02/09/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"i recommend carol and basils amazing penthouse apartments to anyone looking for a cozy all around convenient pleasent stay in athens....the walk from the fountain in pagrati passing the olympic stadium through the park past temple of zeus and up to acropolis was the most memorable moments of our stay! not to mention the scrumptious tgi fridays right across the street! My boyfriend and i didnt want to leave! A special thanks for a wonderfull new year stay in your wonderful apartment! thanks Renee and jason from las vegas" - renee Schuda, las vegas nv, 01/27/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We had a great stay in May 2008, with 3 generations of the family. Grandma especially liked the rooftop deck. We all liked the location and the apartment was perfect. Thanks to Carole and Basil for a wonderful stay and lovely basket of goodies, as well as recommendations for the area." - Anonymous, Barrington, IL, 01/21/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Carole, Basil, and Yannis, you were all outstanding! I'm sorry for not commenting sooner from our (Nov 08) stay. We were very impressed with everything! You all were extremely helpful for all our needs. We traveled with our sons, ages 4 & 2, and the location was perfect for the parks for them and the Athens Marathon for me. Very spacious, clean, and equipped in the "Alpha" apartment. Very helpful having the 2nd room for the boys. We highly recommend staying here, you won't regret it! Wonderful, and an unforgettable accomplishment, of memories were taken with us..me! I can't wait to come back for more wonderful memories! Thanks for everything!" - Tracey Natividad, FPO, AE USA, 12/10/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We can only add to the many positive comments about our stay in Athens First. The apartment was absolutely as good as we anticipated, and the ability to have the services of Yannis was a really great extra! Our family has only the best memories of a wonderful experience in Athens. This was our base for several side trips to the islands, and we felt it was "our home away from home." Definitely. a great choice from every aspect. Thanks Carole and Basil!" - Bob and Helen McCullough, 12/10/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Fantastic welcome basket with great instructions for Frappe's. Close to shops and attractions. Great movies to watch in colection. seperate area for kids sleeping and adults with two bath rooms as well." - Ann, Perth Australia, 12/04/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Carole was very helpful in rental of their apartment in Athens. After a Cruise, three couples stayed three nights there. (Twin Room not as comfy) A wonderful Giro place was less than a block away, and wish we'd eaten there more than once. (Good Prices!) Shampoo, soap, etc. were included...didn't know that prior. Take a bus tour of the city, it's easy to get turned around, but Carole has LOTS of maps, hints, and brochures for use. The patios were a huge hit. Thanks again...Denise Adams" - Anonymous, Scottsdale,AZ,USA, 12/04/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We had a great time - the apartment and location was perfect, had everything we needed (especially the washer and dryer) and Babis and Xenia were great hosts. You could walk to all the prime sites and it was close to the metro. I would recommend this to any family wanting a holiday in Athens." - Colin and Pat Miller, Boise, Idaho, 11/08/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"The Athens Heritage house is ideally located for walking to the Acropolis, Agora and Plaka area. Basil and Xenia are perfect hosts fluent in English (in fact you could easily mistake Basil for a UK native) and the house itself is surprisingly large, comfortable and with all amenities - a real home from home. We would recommend this for anyone vacationing in Athens who wants the most in convenience and comfort." - Stephen and Maria E., San Diego, USA, 10/17/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"The Beta apartment was completely ideal for our party of 5 ladies. We normally go in a hotel for our annual break however had decided that it would be better to have an apartment so that we weren't restricted to breakfast times and space etc. The apartment was perfect for our needs both in terms of facilities and location. A short taxi ride or walk can get you to most places in Athens, however on your doorstep there was lots of shops and bars to keep us occupied. The roof terrace was lovely, a great view over the city and we really didn't do it justice as we were only in Athens for a short break (luck for Carol And Basil who were also staying as we can be a little rowdy at times). I would highly recommend the Beta apartment as a great place to stay with all mod cons for seasoned travellers. " - Nicky Boggis, Rutland UK, 10/13/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Carole, We simply were blown away with your "Alpha" penthouse. Spotless, perfectly equipped, convenient, stunning balconies, modern bathrooms and kitchen. Yannis was prompt,informative,and reasonable. Feel free to refer potential renters to me for a first-hand recommendation." - Graham George, Montgomery, Al, 10/05/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We stayed with our two daughters, age 6 & 8. Everything was perfect and they thoroughly enjoyed the apartment and the excellent proximity to everything there is to see in Athens. The apartment was clean, convenient and safe. The proximity made it easy to return during the day for the kids to rest / freshen up / have a snack. We Highly recommend a stay here...you will enjoy yourselves and take many great memories home!" - Corey Rivard, Portland, OR, 09/11/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We were 4 women who arrived in June for a wonderful 3 nite stay in the Alpha. Everything is as Carole described, no surprises..well, there was 1 surprise, a delightful welcome basket from Carole on arrival! Lots of hot water, fresh towels,and very convenient to all the sights in Athens. We also had Jannis (recommended by Carole) pick us up from ATH airport, I would highly recommend this service. Jannis speaks fluent English, is punctual, and will even take you to Delphi for the day. All and all a wonderful vacation, Thanks Carole for the use of the apt. and the info on Jannis!" - A.Day, Kelowna BC Canada, 09/03/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We found the location of Heritage House and its layout to be absolutely perfect for our group of six. Even more impressive, however, were Carole's attention, concern and effort as we planned our trip to Greece. Even though this was my third trip to Greece, Carole made several suggestions of places to visit like Napflio and stay in (e.g. Hotel Papanikola in Piana) that I was not aware of. They worked out superbly. She also stood by our side, ready to help us when one of our party lost his passport on the day of our departure. She was genuinely interested in our experience in Greece, asking pictures and descriptions of our various stops. I am not given to puffery. However, there is no way I can adequately convey the dedication, knowledge and concern Carole shows for her guests throughout their stay in Greece. Carol and Basil are the best reason to stay at the Athenian Penthouses or Heritage House." - Lor Shepard, Davis, CA, 09/01/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Excellent accomodations. Spotless, beautiful, comfortable and convenient. I highly recommend Athens Pentouse Beta for families and groups. Carole and Basel are excellent hosts: helpful and thoughtful. We found the walk into the Plaka pleasant and loved the neighborhood. The view from the rooftop living room is exceptional. The beds were great, the AC worked well in the August heat. Just an absolute pleasure." - Stacy T., Los Angeles, Ca, 08/18/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Dear Carole and Basil We stayed in Alpha for 3 mights in July 2008. What a fabulous time we had in your lovely apartment. Thank you for equipping the apartment so perfectly and so thoroughly. We enjoyed the spectacular view from our balcony and from the beautiful roof terrace and had an amazing few days exploring Athens. We took your recommendations on restaurants and found them to be wonderful. Thanks again. The Vyvyans. " - The Vyvyan Family, Hampshire, UK, 08/08/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Dear Carole and Babis, First, I want to apologize for not writing sooner. It's been just about two months( June 08)since we visited your beautiful home at the Athens Heritage House. I discovered The Athens Heritage House on Craigslist about nine months before my scheduled arrival. I had countless emails with questions for Carole who was always prompt and thorough with her replies. The house was perfect for my diverse set of needs. The beds and the shower were excellent We loved neighborhood. I'm still dreaming about the bakery around the corner! We walked everywhere! Carole, thank you for your advise on my other travel plans. Babis, we took your advise and stopped at a village on the Corinth Sea on the way to Delphi and had a delicious fish lunch! Thank you! As soon as the dollar recovers you'll be hearing from us!! Yassas! Tony Nenopoulos and clan" - Tony Nenopoulos, Medford, MA., 08/07/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Dear Carole and Basil, We had an amazing week in Greece and our Alpha View penthouse was everything the site promised. Your hospitality made for a very special experience, especially the Easter celebration on the rooftop deck. It was a great introduction to the culture and splendor of Athens. The beds were so comfortable, the location wonderfully convenient, and the view - well amazing. I know we would have had an incredible trip in any event. However, you made us all feel so at home and welcome that our memories of this trip will include you both ( and Scruffy) for years to come. I hope we will meet again soon - in the US or abroad. " - Amy and the Alpha Girls, 07/26/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We can't say enough about our stay at the Heritage in June for 5 days. The apartment was well equipped, spotless, roomy and wonderfully located. In a nice neighborhood, and close to major attractions, restaurants, shopping and the subway. The garden was the place the 6 of us spent most of our time in, taking meals, talking and enjoying it's privacy. I would very much recommend the apartment to anyone wanting to visit Athens. Babis was very helpful with recommending certain attractions and in giving driving directions. We can't thank you enough for helping make the trip to Athens a success." - Scott T. Anderosn, Minneapolis, Mn. USA, 07/22/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Six women stayed at the Alpha apartment June 30 thru July 2nd. A lovely apartment, well appointed and comfortable. It was the end of a five week trip to Europe and we ended it well. It was located in an area with shops and diners at hand and very convienient to all we wanted to see. Another plus was the washer and dryer we actually knew how to use. Not always the case in other apartments inwhich we stayed while on vacation. This apartment is spacious and as represented on the website. Do not be concerned that you won t be pleased. You will be happy with this choice" - Karen Dixon, lufkin Texas, 07/21/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"If you want to feel as you were in your own home during your trip in Athens, the Acropolis View Penthouses is the right place for accommodation! Me and my family spend 5 days and we enjoyed the hospitality of our hosts all the time. Carole and Basil were always ready to help us with information, advices experiance. Sometimes we had very nice chats with them during the evenings. The appartments are well-appointed and you will find everything you need there. Carol and Basil, thank you both for the nice time we spent with you!" - Ivaylo Yosifov, Sofia, Bulgaria, 07/15/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Wow, what a find! For my husband's 85th birthday 10 members of our immediate family (3 couples, 6 grandchildren, ages 3 1/2 to 21) vacationed in Greece. My husband is a Greek-American and wanted his children and grandchildren to see where his father was born. I found the Athens Penthouse, Alpha and Beta, on the Web, and could not have been more pleased with the results. I must say I was apprehensive before we arrived, but my fears were soon diminished when my husband and I arrived. It is a lovely apartment in a good neighborhood in Athens. Restaurants nearby, transportation a block or two. Plenty of shopping! Our family enjoyed having breakfast together before heading out on our site-seeing journeys. We also enjoyed the sunsets on the terrace with mezedes and ouzo. The aparment is very clean, modern, new appliances (all you will ever need) and convenient. Yianni was a great help arranging transportation. Moving a family of 12 is a little difficult, but Yianni made is very easy. Basil and Carole sent a package with all the information you could possibly need regarding where to eat, shop, transportation etc. It was a totally stress free time & our family will never forget this vacation, it was all we dreamed of and more. Also, the welcome basket was fantastic. We had our Ouzo, Frappe's etc and look forward to the next trip to Greece. Thank you so much to Basil and Carole for opening up their home in Greece." - Pat Anthony, Boca Raton, FL 33432, 07/14/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Our stay in the Lykavittos View apartment made us feel like locals. It was comfortable in every way, and the one minor technical problem we had was handled by Carole and Basil immediately, even though they were in Chicago at the time. We loved the neighbourhood, the apartment, the basket of treats and beginning and ending each day on the balcony. Carole was very generous with advice even before we committed to renting the apartment and I would recommend staying in one of her places to anyone I know. Far superior to staying in a hotel and well worth the money." - Cheryl, Calgary, 07/06/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We have just spent a wonderful week staying in the Athens Heritage House. The location and facilities provided by the well-equipped and delightful Heritage House gave us the opportunity to be part of the community, if just for a few days. We were so close (within walking distance) to all of the 'must-see' attractions, and loved shopping locally. We sat in the courtyard enjoying wonderful local cheeses, tomatoes, bread, wine ... just wonderful." - Jan Herbert, Ballina, NSW, Australia, 07/06/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"The apartment was lovely, very spacious, and the garden courtyard a real highlight. The beds were very comfortable, as was the stay in general. Carol was the perfect hostess, with her complete information package regarding the neighborhood and sights. And Basil was so helpful and friendly as well, we especially appreciated his no-nonsense advice on dining - he even gave my Uncle his computer adaptor for upon request. (Thanks Basil, I know that put you out.) I would highly recommend the apartment to anyone staying in Athens." - Anonymous, Calgary, Alberta, 06/30/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Carol, thank you for providing our international family-group (US and Switzerland) a graceful home base for our explorations into the origin of our culture without having to miss a washer/dryer. History is more fun with clean cloths. Carol was incredibly helpful and patient answering all our questions like "How to I pronounce that unpronounceable name of the new Athens airport?" or "How do I make a Greek frappe?". One happy customer, Markus" - Markus Steiner, Denver Colorado, 05/31/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Dear Carole, I cannot express enough how much I loved being in your apt., and how much I appreciated all your help with information about what to do and great directions on how to get there. Your Lykavittos Apt. was wonderful!! It was clean, great location and I could not have been happier. Thank you for all your help. And, I hope one day I will be back to Greece to stay in your apt. again. Liz Tyler, Texas" - liz shaw, tyler, texas, 05/15/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"I just returned from a vacation of 8 days in Athens with my wife and son visiting my daughter who is studying abroad there. We had a fantastic visit and much of it had to do with Carol and the apartment we stayed in. Unfortunately, while we were there most sectors of the workforce were staging strikes protesting benefit and retirement changes. Carol had great info and informed us each night almost about what sector was going on strike the next day. It was a great help planning our daily activities to know whether we were going to be able to ride the metro or should plan something outside of Athens for the day. The apartment was wonderful and perfect for us. The next to last night we invited our daughters roomates and friends-6 girls-to the apartment and had a greek "feast" delivered to the apartment by one of the restaurants Carol recommended in her information package she gave to us prior to arriving. There was plenty of room on the varanda and it was quite special. We used Yanni the taxi driver to pick us up and take us back to the airport. He was very personable and prompt. I would highly recommend the service. The apartmnent was great and the service we recieved from Carol while we were there was first rate. Thank you Carol. Rod, Drue, Charles, Kelly and friends" - Rodney Frazier, State College, Pennsylvania, 03/24/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"My husband, 2 sons (18 and 21 years old) and I stayed at the Heritage House for 4 days in December, 2007. As soon as we walked into the apartment we were all extremely impressed by the beautiful decor, size, and everything the apartment had to offer. It certainly shows that a lot of attention to detail (and love) was put into the recent renovations. You just don't know what to expect and this was certainly a pleasant surprise for us all. The location is ideal, with cafes, restaurants and bars all just a few steps away - not to forget the magical Acropolis. The welcome basket of teas, coffees, local biscuits and wine were greatly appreciated. We have travelled through Europe and the USA on this trip and this apartment is one of the best we have stayed in." - Pam Buscemi, Melbourne, Australia, 01/20/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"The Beta apartment was an excellent choice for our family over the Christmas holidays. It was so much nicer than a hotel with all the comforts of home. We really liked the comfortable beds and having the Internet accessible. Carol was helpful both before and during out stay." - L.M. Miller, Houston, TX, 01/01/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"My husband and I along with our 7 year old daughter had the pleasure of staying in the Heritage House in early October for 3 nights - what a shame it wasn't longer! We decided to make life easy for ourselves and paid the extra for transfers to and from the airport. Yannis was very professional and punctual and we would certainly recommend this service should your holiday budget stretch this far. Babis and Xenia greeted us with a jug of cold orange juice which was a lovely surprise. The welcome basket of delicious local biscuits and wine went down a treat too :) What can I say about the Heritage House - well, it was absolutely spotless for a start and had all the little extras any discering traveller could wish for. The bed linens were luxurious, washing machine and dryer a domestic godesses dream whilst on holidays and a shower to die for! Our daughter who was seriously craving the company of kids even got to have a couple of plays with Xenia and Babis' children. Carole was a delight to deal with. Communication with her was always prompt and the information package she sent us ensured that we had all the facts we needed before we even left home. In excited anticipation I read and re-read the information package many times in the weeks before we left and knew that we would not be dissapointed when we arrived at the Heritage House. The house is situated very close to the amazing Acropolis and surrounded by many good restaurants. If you are thinking about staying at the Heritage House, go ahead, you'll love it as much as we did :)" - Anonymous, Perth, Western Australia, 12/06/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Last month, we stayed in the Acropolis View Beta apartment for eleven days. Carole and Basil have done a wonderful job with the place. It is comfortable and nicely designed with a wonderful modern decor. We felt right at home. It exceeded our expectations. We enjoyed both the shared terrace on the roof for viewing the city at night as well as spending time on the smaller apartment terrace just gazing out at the activity in the street below. We immediately felt at home in the neighborhood as well, lounging in the afternoons at the Terra Cafe just down the street sipping espresso with ice cream. We can't stop talking about our terrific trip, about how much we enjoyed Athens, its ancient sites, its exciting nightlife, the excellent food we had, and the fun day trips we took to Santorini, Hydra, Sounio/Temple of Poseidon, and Delphi. The apartment was the home base we enjoyed coming back to each evening. We fell in love with Athens, the Greek culture, and the Greek people. We can't wait to be back!" - Peter, Steve, Kevin, 11/25/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Last month we spent a most enjoyable week in Athens, Greece !!! Never having rented a personal apartment we were a little hesitant. We were concerned that we might feel as if we were invading someone's privacy. Well, we were delightfully surprised by how welcoming and comfortable the experience proved to be. The apartment fulfilled all of our expectations and in no time at all we felt very much "at home". Carole took the time prior to our arrival to answer my many questions and also had a fantastic "Welcome Basket" waiting for us in the apartment. All in all this was a very positive experience which we highly recommend. We are so glad we "found" you, Carole........... " - Anonymous, 11/05/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Had a wonderful stay and will be back next year for longer. The apartment is exquisite and Carole, the hostess, was fabulous. My new favorite street in Athens is Imitou, just two blocks from the apartment. I'll be back!" - Larry Fox, Eugene, OR, 11/03/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"just had 4 great days in Heritage House,with 3 mates.Place was great,plenty room for 4 of us ,spotlessly clean on arrival,and Babis and Xenia from upstairs very welcoming and helpful.Handy to everywhere only 20 min. walk to middle city.Didnt need to cook, or though facilities in apartment where excellent, restaurants for miles all around apartment so we eat and drank with the locals everynight.All spoke English and all very friendly.Excellent weather mild 22c , blue skys everyday.Would recommend airport pickup service or though metro station easy walk to apartment if you know where youre going.All in all excellent place to visit and stay. Paul,Bruce,Mike,Willy from New Zealand " - Paul Lepper, New Plymouth New Zealand, 11/01/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Carole & Basil, It was a pleasure meeting both of you. Thank you for sharing your lovely 'Athens First' apartment. It was perfect for our family. The apartment was beautifully decorated with modern fixtures and the location was close to the metro or bus. The view of the Acropolis at night was spectacular! Your tips and suggestions were invaluable to our stay. The welcome basket saved us that first night--a very nice touch! I would HIGHLY recommend to anyone visiting Athens!! PS-A suggestion--Definitely take advantage of the airport transfer--we wished we would have. It would have made that first (exhausting) night hassle-free!" - The Bardon family, 10/29/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Great experience! Would highly recommend!! Fred Winters" - Fred Winters, 10/12/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Carole- We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and your Lykavittos apartment was just perfect for our family. Thank you for all your suggestions and information on making our trip complete. We will definitely be back." - The Caughron Family, 10/02/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Dear Carole--Our stay in the Heritage House was fabulous. The location was absolutely perfect, given that we were in Athens for only 2 days. And, there was plenty of room for our family of 5 adults. Also, Babis and Zenia were very welcoming and helpful. Yannis was an added bonus being prompt and informative. I hope to return to Athens someday and to the Heritage House. Thank you, Carole. The Danen family" - Anonymous, 09/15/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Dear Carole, We had a most wonderful time in your fabulous apartment, and are really sorry to leave so soon. We've truly never seen such great accommodations in Athens. Most spectacular. Needless to say we really impressed our Greek relatives with our "penthouse terrazza" - I'm sure they'll be talking about it for years to come!!!!! Of course we're planning to come back every year and pretend it's our own!! Blague à part, we really enjoyed our stay thoroughly. Thanks again and until next time, hoping to meet you soon! Helene & Angeliki XXX" - Helene Leduc-Brazeau, Toronto, ON Canada, 09/06/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"In May of 2006 we spent a marvelous week in your duplex penthouse with our adult daughter and two friends from Chicago. We had a marvelous time! It was well within walking distance to many places, and close to public transportation to all the others we wanted to visit. We loved being in a neighborhood rather than in a tourist area, and we found the restaurants, cafes, and shops delightful and intriguing. People were so nice to us and treated us like neighbors. Of course the apartment was terrific. You left everything we needed, and the welcome basket was a grand surprise and treat. Everything worked so well, and the spacious apartment was perfect for our group of 5. Many thanks for all you did to make our stay so wonderful." - Elaine Roth, Chicago Illinois, 09/03/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"I and my family stayed at Acropolis View Beta apartment and were delighted with the high standards the care provided. Our flight was delayed and we would have missed the last train to Athens, but someone anticipated the problem and arranged for us to be met and taxis made available to take us directly to the apartment. Very thoughtful. The apartment is exceptionally well equipped with everything from a spa bath to an essential electric frappe whisk. We particularly enjoyed time spent on the terrace with the wonderful views of sunset over the acropolis. The apartment is in a pleasant area with a wide choice of shopping and eating establishments. Although we were warned against taxis, we were only once charged more than 2.5 euros for a trip to the centre of the city - well worth the money." - Julia Richards, Dereham, Norfolk. UK, 08/28/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We enjoyed our stay in the Lykavittos view apartment. There were four adults and it was lovely to have privacy, plus common areas where we could relax together with coffee or ouzo and plan or rehash the days activities. The apartment was very nice, clean, and well equipped. The balcony was a lovely place to relax with a drink and a good book. The welcome basket was a real treat! Yannis was a gem! Caroles information package was very helpful. If we return to Athens, we will definitely stay in one of Carole's penthouses again." - Anne, Florida, 07/27/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"hi carole. just a quick note to let you know how much we enjoyed staying in your apartment, the acropolis view beta. it is so lovely, comfortable and well-appointed, we felt very much at home. your goodie basket was wonderful: i especially loved the olive paste, but also the dolmas and the giant white beans. the neighborhood shopkeepers are so lovely. we went to the grocery store on imattou, across the street and a few blocks up to the right. the man at the cheese counter (george, w/ gray hair) gave us so many tastes, he wouldn't let us buy until we tasted several so we would know what we really liked. the feta from the barrel behind the counter was to die for. :-) as you exit the market on imattou, turn right and go up the first street. there is a bakery halfway up the block. the dark-haired girl in the bakery speaks excellent english and she, too, insisted we sample several things. i fell in love w/ the flat, lacy, wafer-thin crispy cheese things. and then there was the tyropita at the bakery on imattou and formios, on your side of the street. huge and triangular w/ the crispiest phyllo and the smoothest, most delicious cheese filling ever. we also thoroughly enjoyed the friday morning neighborhood market. i must say i have never seen a kiosk devoted solely to toilet paper! and the produce was fabulous. even though it was our last day, i bought some apricots and the most delicious melon i've ever tasted. looks something like a cantaloupe on the outside, but smells like perfume and has the sweetest flesh, like honeydew. mmmmmmmmm. the concert at the 2,000-yr-old herodeon was wonderful. also saw a movie on the rooftop of the theater across the street, in english w/ greek subtitles. what a fun way to spend our last evening, after a delicious dinner at o kostas. the young chef is very skillful and really charming. we told him we were staying at your apartment, and he sent his greetings. he does a fried fish like i have never tasted before. his secret: a light coating of flour on the filet, and then a quick pan fry in olive oil. and lots of oregano. divine! ditto for the greek-style tabbouleh, much different than its israeli counterpart. yannis, the taxi driver and tour guide, was great. he took us on a half-day athens tour and we really enjoyed his warmth and sweet personality, as well as his considerable knowledge of athens and surrounding areas. he was prompt and courteous, also taking us to and from the airport. the warmth and friendliness of the greek people were a delight to experience. i hope we can enjoy your beautiful apartment again in the future, when we return to see some of the islands, which we didn't manage to get to this time. thank you again for your hospitality. " - melinda , los angeles, california, 07/09/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We (my wife and two teenaged daughters had a great stay at the Heritage House. Carole was easy to deal with and both Babis and Xenia were delightful. The apartment was very clean, nice and in a wonderful neighborhood very close to all of the main attractions to Athens. A great stay!! " - Jeff, 07/02/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Four or us just returned from a fabulous stay at the Heritage House in the Athens. The house was perfectly comfortable, and was in a fantastic location. We enjoyed our morning coffee on the outdoor patio, and the welcome basket equipped with wine and other Greek treats was a very nice touch. Xenia and Babis, the upstairs neighbors, make you feel like family and greeted us with smiles and a pitcher of orange juice upon arrival. The house is just a few blocks away from fantastic cafes, restaurants, and the Acropolis. If you are in Athens for tourist purposes, you cannot ask for a better location. You will not be disappointed with the house, but the true gem of this entire process is Carole. Carole makes you feel welcome and comfortable from the first time you contact her. She is a wealth of information about Athens (and Greece in general), and she has the competence of a concierge at a 5-star hotel. There is no question that we will stay in one of Carole’s properties on our next trip to Athens. " - Danny Fischer, St. Louis, MO, 06/04/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"My students and I, plus one parent and another adult just spent 6 days in Carole and Basil's amazing apartment. The kids, seven 12-13 year-olds loved the place and it worked out perfect for our group. When we weren't out enjoying some Greek food, we were enjoying a nice dinner up on the terrace. Wow, what a view! The grocery store down the street, across from Goodies, was a great place to go. We fell in love with their olives and the people who worked there were so friendly! We had a wonderful time in Athens and the apartment worked out perfectly. Thanks so much! " - Julie, Kosice, Slovakia, 05/03/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"I just returned from an 8-night stay (April 1-9) at Carole's amazing apartment. After corresponding with Carole extensively, I had high expectations, but the results were even more fantastic that I imagined. We were a group of 4, one couple and two singles, so the 3 bedrooms were perfect for us. The layout of the apartment was very convenient for socializing while still allowing for privacy. Everything was top-notch and we especially enjoyed the kitchen amenities and the gift basket! We polished off the ouzo the first night and immediately bought more, it was so perfect for sipping on the terrace as the sun went down! The location of the apartment was wonderful, situated in a quiet residential area but close to ALL the action! The grocery store just a few blocks away was wonderful, and we were within walking distance of all the major sites, even Plaka and the Acropolis! Carole's help and recommendations were priceless, as she has true "insider" information to share and does everything she can to make your trip fantastic! We hope to return to Greece soon and would not even THINK of staying anywhere else!" - Allison Whitson, Dallas, TX, 04/10/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We had an awesome stay here! Carole was so helpful! The apartment is beautiful with amazing views! It is more than a comfortable place to stay while on your vacation! The wireless internet is such a plus when helping to plan your trip! If you are looking for a place to stay in Athens...STAY HERE! You will be so happy that you did!" - Danielle Robinson, Norwalk, CT, 04/01/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We had a 3 day stay in March at Lykovittos view. From the organised pick up from the airport to well stocked larder, everything was as it needed to be. The location is convenient, 15 minutes from Plaka and the Acropolis and allows you to be in and out as you need to - which was important for us with 2 toddlers in the group. It was cold while we were there, but the balcony would be fantastic in Spring. The apartment is perfect for small families as a "home away from home"" - Nikhilesh Kalra, London, UK, 03/30/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"hcf bhc bhcf bhcf" - roki, nhbcbghc, 02/16/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Lykavittos View Apartment was terrific. We had such a wonderful time in Athens and the neighborhood and apartment were perfect for all of our activities. We walked almost everywhere. Loved the visit. thank you Carol and basil!" - Laurie Jacoby, Los Angeles, 02/08/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"What an amazing time we had on our first trip to Greece, made even better by staying at Carole and Basil's apartment on Imitou St. in Athens. We could definitely see the Acropolis from the balcony, as well as Mt. Lykvaticos. On New Year's Eve, we had the best view in town of the fire works over the mountain! The apartment is beautiful, and more than adequate for the four of us. Everything is new and clean and well kept, the kitchen is well stocked and outfitted for in-house cooking. And the beds were really comfortable. The location is great, making a walk to the National Gardens, Acropolis, and through the Plaka a pleasant (yet full) day's journey. Starbucks just a block away! Movie theater across the street. Plenty of supermarkets, bakeries, restaurants in the area. No one has starved in Greece for over 50 years! We'll definitely be back!" - Georgia Daugherty, Kuwait, 01/11/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"This was my second time staying in an Athens penthouse apartment. The first time was last year in April during Greek Easter and I just returned in August with my parents and friends for a three week tour of Greece. After three years of living in Madrid and traveling throughout Europe I realize what a luxury it was to stay in these apartments. By the end of our trip I was calling it our home and didn't want to leave. The balcony was my favorite place to eat yogurt and honey in the morning with a frappe. We were in walking distance to any place we wanted to go within Athens. I even went for a run and a tour of all the surrounding parks and later up the Lykavittos for an amazing view of the city at night and in the morning." - Leigh, Chicago, IL USA/Madrid, Spain, 12/28/06(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We stayed at the Beta apartment for 3 nights in July 2006. Airport pickup by Yannis was great. What a nice fellow. We were immediately struck by how nice this newly renovated apartment is. Everything in it is new. Size-wise it is small, but a decent size for a city apartment, with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, kitchen with counter and bar stools and small living room. The brand-new appliances are fabulous, especially the full-size washer and dryer. Carole has stocked it with everything we could possibly need: laundry detergent, bounce sheets, paper towels, new towels, Frommer’s and Fodor’s and several other guide books, etc. There is also a welcome basket with toast, nutella, small tins of Greek specialties, wine, orange juice. Then, there are instructions on how to make a frappe, along with the ingredients. There is ouzo in the fridge and an information sheet on ouzo. Also, a map of the area with a couple of nearby restaurants marked on it. Of all the places we’ve ever rented, and there have been a lot over the years, this apartment stands out for the thoughtfulness put into renovating and equipping it. We enjoyed the souvlaki place down the street, which Carole recommended. Also, George and Athina's restaurant has wonderful home-style Greek cooking. At lunch, you walk into the kitchen and choose your food from the huge pots on the stove. In the evening, there is a wonderful rooftop terrace, where the view of the Acropolis is amazing." - Anonymous, 11/04/06(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We stayed at 12 Aigypto from 9/23/06 thru 9/28/06. Yannis picked us up at the airport and took us directly to the apartment. He arranged transportation for us to Glyfada and he took us back to the airport. He was very helpful. We highly recommend him. We found the accommodation to be excellent. The pictures didn't lie. The kitchen is well appointed and stocked with basic spices. It is really quite spacious especially since it has 2 floors. Having a washer was great and I loved being able to dry my clothes outside on the line that was provided. Just as the locals did by the way. We enjoyed all that the neighborhood had to offer and found the grocery shopping good. NOTE: The AB takes major credit cards. I had difficulty using my AMEX Euro travellers checks. We took the Sight Seeing bus to get our bearings the first day and found it to be a great way to see many sites quickly and then decide which you wanted to go see for extended times. The apartment is very close to this bus stop and also the metro. The metro is very clean and fast. We also took the trolly from Glyfada to Plaka for 0.60 E, yes a mere 0.60. Incredible and while it wasn't as fast as the metro, it was very nice to see the sites and didn't take more than 45 minutes. One of the best parts of the trip was to Glyfada where we linked up with the Aegean Divers to do a shore dive. The operation is very professional, the dive was easy (entry required some walking over rocks but not problem). Visibilty was 8 meters and water temp. ~22 C. We saw many fishes at the site called "Rock Pile". Had a 67 minute dive with max depth 15 meters. Boat dives are done on the weekends only. Again, we shall return to Greece and we will stay at one of Carole's and Basil's apartments. Great views etc, can go on an on. We really enjoyed the home away from home." - Deborah Wilkinson, Johnson City, TN USA, 10/18/06(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"I am happy to share our experiences staying in Carole's penthouse apartment in Athens. It is well worth the cost. It is located in a quiet neighborhood, within walking distance to shops, eaterys, neighborhood market (Tues) and the metro. I was a little daunted by the distances on the map before we arrived in Athens, but found the walking to be quite easy, and preferred. The apartment is most comfortable and is wonderful to go back to in the late afternoon to relax without being on top of one another (we had 5 stay there). I couldn't imagine staying in a hotel or a smaller place. Carole has thought of everything in outfitting the apartment, and you are greeted with a welcome basket of thoughtful treats and necessities (coffee!); all sorts of recommendations about where to eat, what to visit; maps, guides, you name it. Carole and Basil have shared much of themselves. We felt pampered. I haven't even mentioned the most wonderful feature...the rooftop view of the Acropolis! You will enjoy going up each evening to watch the sunset and the lights come up as you drink a glass of wine. Even if it is cool when you go, you will want to put on jackets to go up for the 'event'. The neighbors in the building never complained, and I know we were noisy on at least one occassion - when we had 16 students join us for the evening viewing from the rooftop. Obviously we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. You would not be disappointed to stay at Carole and Basil's. Oh, we loved the neighborhood markets, and cooked our evening meal each night. Carole has even appointed the kitchen to such an extent that we had everything we needed and then some. " - Chartley, Indianapolis, Indiana USA, 04/21/06(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"CAN'T WAIT TO VACATION AND VISIT YOUR PLACE! THE PICTURES LOOK GREAT. LOVE FROM YOUR BUDDIES IN THE HOLY LAND!" - Tamar and Dave, isreal, 01/17/06(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"It is sad for me and my family to think it has been nearly one year since we were in Athens. We stayed at Aigypto (please excuse spelling) apartment for a month and a half and have nothing put praises to sing of the place. The ad was completely accurate. We immediately felt at home. Carol and Basil went above and beyond the call of duty when it came to assuring we were happy. It was such an amazing welcome to a truely special country. I will list a few of our favorite "features" of the apartment and the surroundings. We absolutely LOVED the terrace. I spent countless hours out there and it was glorious. The entire space is very light and airy. And lest I forget the washing machine. Sounds trite, but when you have an infant being able to wash a load at any time was invaluable. The neighborhood had a lot to offer. I had a favorite bakery "across" the street, a favorite sweet shop that sold ice cream bars that we still dream about, a favority gyro joint "down the block" (sadly, I am blanking on street names), a number of good grocery stores around the corners plus an exceptional one if you are willing to take a 10 minute walk and of course countless coffee houses where people watching became a hobby. If you haven't gotten the message by now, we really loved staying at this apartment and WHEN we return we hope it is available to rent." - Dominique Tauzin, Albany, NY, 10/05/05(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"This is an excellent place to stay and we had a great time in a "home" situation. I would have no doubt in recommending it to all travellers to Athens....." - DRJ, London, 09/19/05(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Hi Carole, We LOVED the apartment - it was great and everything that you said that it was. The location was perfect, etc and we would really enjoy visiting, again. T.Wood" - T. Wood, Atlanta, GA, 09/18/05(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Carole, Your apartment was absolutely marvellous and lovely and we all had a fantastic time. I have some digital photos we took that I can send if you want them (we took them to show folks back home our luxurious accommodation). I also got some nice photos of the sunrise and sunset from the roof terrace - again, sing out if your interested to see these. I was also truly amazed at how much cleaner Athens had become, now they've stopped cars driving down Ermou St and with the introduction of the electric trolley busses. In fact, Athens was truly a delight to return, with the much cleaner air and the whole Olympic feel in full swing. The Greeks did a really marvellous job at organising the venues and the transport etc; despite the negative press they received. We also got to go out to the Olympic village and again the Greeks have excelled themselves, I believe, at showing true hospitality. None of the Australian athletes we talked to had any complaints about the village and services. I really think that Greece can be proud of what it achieved in hosting a marvellous games (that Opening Ceremony was a total knock-out, I had no idea how anyone could top Sydney's but they did it). We liked staying at your place so much that were seriously tempted to return to Athens for a normal holiday; don't know when, but someday. Thanks again and warmest regards Paul " - P. Atkins, Australia, 06/28/05(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"The apartment was everything the web site describes. Light, roomy, and comfortable, fully appointed with all the comforts of home. On a quiet residential side street, you will feel like you are living in Athens, not just visiting. And the veranda is a perfect place to relax outdoors after a long day seeing the city. What's more, Carole provides great suggestions for restaurants and markets which you won't find on your own. A class (or two) above any other Athens apartment we were able to find on the web. Don't miss it!" - Andrew Fisher, Atlanta, Georgia, 05/09/05(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)


'Like' us on
Facebook
Copyright © 2004-2022, VRconnection. All Rights Reserved. Please read our disclaimer and privacy policy. Follow us on
Twitter