Own or manage a vacation home? We can help!
    Click here to login | Smartphone?
Search or listing #:
Browse > Central America > Costa Rica Vacation Rentals
VRconnection#2050

Vacation Rental Photos
From the E...Playa Herm...
Side View ...From Livin...
Master Bed...The Pool w...
Living Roo...Kitchen fr...
Second Bed...Albacore f...
Yard and P...

Beachfront Luxury Home W/Pool On Famous Playa Hermosa/Jaco/Free Phone


Central America/Costa Rica/Near Jaco Vacation Rental


3 bedroom, 2 bath vacation home sleeps 8


Comments From Guests of Albacore

"I just got back from my stay and recommend this nice home highly! Very comfortable king size bed!! I am an old surfer and can tell you that I rented a long board in Jaco for $10 a day and had a blast. There were a few days when the surf was too big for me but most days you can take your choice of smaller waves or larger ones. I saw a number of younger surfers catching a small tube or two. I think the true test of the house was when we had a huge thunderstorm, raining cats and dogs for about 3 hours. This caused a problem with the pool but Paul, Gary and the rest of the guys really stepped up and solved the problem. We also really enjoyed buying fresh fish, shrimp and lobster from the man that stopped by most nights. Paul's grill is top notch and we used it extensively. Luis the gardener was great! He was there cleaning up but was very low key. I hope you enjoy the hammock I left, just no room in the luggage. Activities I recommend, the butterfly, frog and snake tour about 5 km north of Jaco. The Crocodile Man tour in Tarcoles (we had a great guide). Horse back riding and the zipline tour at Golfo Vista hotel about 15km from Puntarenas. If you have the money fishing in Quepos is great, we got a sailfish, big mahi mahi and a small skip jack tuna on a slow day. Night life in Jaco is a mix. A lot of things start very late around 11pm (late for us). The Plankton club had nice music and good service and the food was good, but dancing was a bit of a challenge due to space and it opened at 9pm. There are a number of clubs for single men that we did not go to, the Monkey Bar, the Jungle Club and I forgot the others. If you are a beer drinker Imperial Beer is the best, and I have a couple of tee shirts to prove it!! Bring lots of sunscreen and insect repellent when you go on the jungle tours. My other recommendations are a probiotic pill and two Pepto Bismal chewable tablets every day to ward off travelers sickness. Our travel nurse also gave us a prescription for Cipro in case of bacterial intestinal infection but we had no issues. Another good travel tip is to bring dry Gatorade in case you need to maintain hydration in case you have problems. I have traveled a lot and these are good tips where ever you travel including in the US." - Will , Raleigh, NC, 02/25/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We rented this house and brought our family here for 10 days (Feb. 3, 2010 to Feb. 13, 2010. We have adult children and we all had such a blast. This is a great house. Right on the beach with good surf right out front! The pool was fabulous, the watchtower so great, everything about this house we loved. We will definetly be back. It is close enough to everything and also far enough away. It gives the true flavor of the Playa Hermosa area. Las Olas has the best maple syrup I have ever tasted. We love Costa Rica and we loved the house! Pura Vida!" - Patty & Larry, Mission Viejo, CA, 02/22/10(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Paul and Pamela, Myself and 6 of my close friends stayed at the Albacore home. We all could not believe where we were. Every night on the deck listening to the waves and all the little creatures. The smell of the Ocean and relaxing by the pool, what a life!! The activities were so fun and different, things we can't do in Canada like surfing everyday or zip lining through the jungle. I don't think one of us had a complaint. We will never forget this vacation and what we experienced there. The beautiful sunsets (and sunrise's), the kind, easy going people. This way of life in Costa Rica will stay with us forever. Pura Vida!!!! Thank you so much for this great experience of such an extrodinary place. Heidi Shannon and friends!!!" - Heidi Shannon, Montreal, Quebec, 03/17/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Saturday, our first full day, we decided to relax at our house and explore the sights around us. We started the day with a walk on the beach where we were treated to "wild" horses, pelicans, neat rocks and sand dollars and gorgeous, quiet black volcanic sand that stretched for miles. We had a great time playing in the warm water and waves. Then it was back to the house for a dip in the pool, lunch and nap time for Tyler. After nap time, we went on a hike behind our house to see what animals we could find in the jungle. We were treated to lots of white faced capuchin monkeys swinging and jumping through the trees. Tyler was in heaven - although he does keep asking to find the lions. Next, we trekked back to the store for a few items, and returned for an evening swim and dinner at the house. What a day!!!" - From the Roe family first day, North Carolina, USA, 03/14/09(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Our stay at Albacore will be one of the most cherished memories of my life. From it's scenic views of the beaches and rain forest to the posh amenities and comfort, Albacore had everything we wanted and then some. My time spent in Costa Rica will always be remembered and it could not have been possible without our truly magical stay at Albacore. My only regret is that we didn't longer! There's always next year!!!" " - Michael Littlefield, Virginia, 09/17/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"In Spanish and English below: La alta calidad en el servicio y las condiciones de la propiedad se unieron a un maravilloso tiempo que en compañía de una familia excepcional hicieron de nuestro fin de de semana en Albacore, unas vacaciones que recordaremos por siempre. El lujo, la comodidad y el placer se mezclaron de manera muy sutil para lograr que los que ahí nos hospedamos, pasáramos un fin de semana en la tierra sintiéndonos como en el cielo. Gracias por su fina atención. Saludos cordiales, Roony Arguedas D. Coordinador de Servicios Generales. In English: The high quality in the service and the conditions of the property was united with a wonderful time that in company of an exceptional family we found our aim of a great week in Albacore, a vacation that we will remember always. The luxury, the comfort and the pleasure were mixed in a very subtle way that we found when we stayed there, we spent a weekend in the Earth feeling to us like we were in the sky. Thanks for its fine attention. Warm greetings, Roony Arguedas D. Coordinator of General Services. " - Roony Arguedas D., San Jose, Costa Rica, 09/17/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Hi Paul, Just wanted to tell you how nice of a trip we had in Costa Rica, it was one of the best trips we've taken! Your tips on restaurants were great and the directions were perfect as well. We enjoyed spending time out on the lookout deck watching the waves and the iguanas on the roof! The house was great and we had a really relaxing time in it and just wanted to say thank you. We're excited to go back to Costa Rica in the future and when we do we'd love to stay at Albacore again and relive some of the great memories we had there! Thanks again and take care, Dave Nichols" - David Nichols, 07/24/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We just returned from a.. not long enough..week in Paradise at the beautiful Albacore home. It was a dream just as stated by other past guests, to a few I owe a great big THANKS for directing us to some good times. Though you do not need to leave the house to enjoy your visit, we found it a perfect jumping off place to explore some of our.. bucket list.. dreams. Deep sea fishing was great as we caught a few nights dinner, as well as seeing Dauphins and Mantee's, even sea turtles mating in 400' of ocean waters. The guest book at the house tells a lot of good adventures by quite a few visitors, and I might add all were very truthful.If you are into bird watching there is a great refuge for birds only 30 minutes from the house. Paul and Pamela are owners that really care about their guests enjoying there home.There is something for everyone in this easy going beautiful country. It is easy to see why Paul and Pam decided to buy there. Paul recommended a restaurant right down the road called the Jungle Cafe, We had dinner there with Maui-Maui and the biggest cut of Tuna I have ever seen at a restaurant, including drinks for all four of us our bill was $41.00. WOW the food is all good and so reasonable. The people are all very friendly and helpful. When you go you need to go to the Villa Caletas for the sunset and their Sunset margarittas. What a GREAT vacation" - Lyn & Pam, Winter Haven, FL, 02/06/08(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We really have had a wonderful time in Jaco and a memorable stay in your house at Playa Hermosa. The weather was fantastic and the house pool was cleaned by someone daily. The first day we checked in, there were minor things we need to coordinate with Judith, such as the dryer, gas, etc. Judith the house manager is very quick in responding and always there to answer questions. The house is very clean, tranquil and best of all… the beach is just across the street. I befriended 2 resident iguanas and before I left, I fed them a little. All in all, it was a great holiday in a fantastic house on the beach. If I visit Costa Rica again, I will definitely stay in your house at Playa Hermosa if available. Cheers, Keith " - Keith Alfon, 07/21/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"The major purpose of our getaway was relaxation. We spent more than half of our week hanging out and used the pool every day. I loved getting in the pool about 4 o’clock each afternoon and watching the clouds gradually form over the Pacific in preparation for the evening rainstorm. Most of the time, Doug would be in the lookout tower drinking dark Costa Rican beer and watching boats, surfers and pelicans. After we realized that maps do not convey distance in any useful way, and that Costa Rican roads are not freeways, we adjusted our expectations and committed to only one excursion that involved real driving. That was to Manuel Antonio Park, two hours south down the coast from Playa Hermosa. We heeded general advice that paying for a guided tour would be worth our money; this suggestion turned out to be true. Our guide, Efraim, was especially insightful because his father had been the first ranger at the park.. Efraim carried a good telescope and zeroed in on creatures great and small: bats, frogs, toads and crabs not visible to the naked eye. The highlight of our two-hour walk was seeing howler monkeys jump long distances above us in the canopy. We also heard the male howler cries that sound like a puma’s roar, and are meant to establish territory—a thrilling moment! During our week, we almost worked through Paul’s suggested restaurant list, making our own breakfasts then enjoying lunch and dinner at very low-key inexpensive local places. Because there is a working fishing fleet at Quepos about 30 miles away, fresh fish (tuna, dorado, mahi-mahi and sea bass) was available everyday in most restaurants. Tropical fruit drinks were on every menu and we had our share. Judith, the site-manager suggested we check out a workingman’s restaurant a few miles down the coastal road (turn right instead of heading toward Playa Hermosa) where truck drivers stop. Two restaurants, the Colonial and the Typico are side by side. You can recognize them by the assembly of big rigs in the shared parking lot. We had an excellent “blue plate special” of main dish, rice and beans, fried plantains and macaroni salad at the Typico. The cultural experience of watching soap operas on TV and being in the local scene outside the more touristy areas of Playa Hermosa and Jaco felt authentic and satisfying, like the casado meal. Everywhere in Costa Rica you see “La Pura Vida” as a motto on billboards, t-shirts and in the names of hotels. “Pura Vida” seems to mean living life “purely” by enjoying the beauty of each moment. Our short week felt like a tease; we realized it would take at least a month to truly explore the many ecosystems and regions of Costa Rica. But the Albacore House provided a great home base to make a start in exploring this very accessible paradise. " - Doug and Lianne Card, Visalia, CA, 06/06/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Albacore, you are the best house in Costa Rica! As first time visitors to CR, we couldn't have been happier-such lovely rooms inside...it was almost a shame that we barely used them because of how great the roof top deck and pool were! Walking the beach for breakfast, learning to surf, swinging through the canopy... awesome. The house was also perfect for drives to Manual Antonio and the Arenal volcano. Thank you Judith and Paolo, thank you Paul and Pamela, and thank you Albacore! Can't wait to go back-- Jody, Leanne, Heather, and Pickle Baltimore, Maryland " - Jody Costa, Columbia, Maryland, 05/29/07(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Dear Paul and Pamela Thanking you again for a month in paradise. Your house was exactly what we had expected. Modern and in a wonderful location. The pool and jaccuzzi made the stay even more wonderful. Our tours were great . The deep sea fishing with king tours was great. The month at Albacore including the sunsets up in the look out and the view of the ocean will be missed. Thats why we are coming back in 2007. Costa Rica is truly wonderful and so is Albacore. Counting the days until we return. Thanking you both Sue and Brigitte (Canada)" - Sue Lafleur, 05/25/06(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Dear Paul, Wanted to let you know the Albacore House was absolutely wonderful. The house was supplied with all the amenities one would need, kitchen supplies, beach towels and mats, laundry detergent, you name it you had it. The house and property were so well kept. The location couldn't be better. What a perfect view overlooking the ocean and a great spot for surfing. I can't say enough good about it and we can't wait to go back again. Thank you! Laura Kane " - Laura Kane, 04/09/06(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Hi Paul and Pamela: Jon and I are home and very happy to have gotten to know Costa Rica a little. We never rest much when we're on vacation so we tried to do as much as possible. We left our commments and tips in your guest book so you can check that out when you get down there in a few days. Your house is wonderful. We were very comfortable. We lacked nothing. Jon had not seen the pictures of your place and was blown away with the setting and the house. He kept saying, "This is a resort, a private resort." Of the six days at your house we really only "chilled" (swam, beach walks, read - what most people do on vacation) at the house a couple of days as we wanted to see as much as possible. We drove down to Manuel Antonio one day, leaving at 6:45 AM, getting home nearly at dark. We explored the coast coming back. Locally, we went up to Pura Vida Gardens, Parque National Carara, The Areal Tramway, checked out Villa Caseta and Los Suenos and Sea Kayaked out of Hotel Club del Mar. We also drove up to the Arenal Volcano, spending one night in Tabacon. We made it a loop trip, driving up through Palmares and then driving back around the Lake and through Canas and to the InterAmerican Hwy. (it isn't the Italian Autosrada). The Volcano was awsome, rumbling and smoking, saw rocks avalanching down the montain. If we had more time in Costa Rica, we would have stay another night. The drive was arduous, but we got a fuller view and feel of the county seeing the non-tourist towns (clean and well kept compared to Jaco). We were glad to be back to Playa Hermosa. Teri was great. We got to know Isreal, the night watchman. Very sweet guy who is really attached to the land. Your new BBQ is great. We had a great time and look forward to returning. Take care and Happy New Year. Mariani " - Mariani Salmon, 01/08/06(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Christmas at Albacore My family and I have been living in Costa Rica for nearly 10 years. I was so excited to have all four of my kids visiting that I decided to make arrangements to have a few days off from work and made plans to take the family to the beach. I found Albacore on the Internet. It seemed perfect- right on the beach, fully equipped and with a private swimming pool, I couldn’t think of another thing we could possibly need. Arriving at the house around 12:45AM, we obtained the keys from the guard and were surprised, and very pleased, to find how big and beautiful the house was. The photos on the Internet had not nearly done it justice! Teri, the property manager, had thoughtfully left freshly baked bread from the panaderia, eggs, milk, coffee and fresh fruit so that we would be prepared for breakfast in the morning. She knew we would be arriving late and had thought to save us an early morning, hunger filled, trip to the supermarket. The house had everything we could possibly need! The kitchen was fully equipped with everything from a coffee maker to wine glasses and a corkscrew. Cutting boards, pots and pans, casual plastic dinner-ware for out by the pool and beautiful stoneware for the dining room- really, it seems that Paul and Pamela have thought of everything. There was a stereo in the living room, which we moved to the patio for our stay, a television equipped with a VCR and even a high-speed Internet connection! One day was spent relaxing around the pool, surfing and generally hanging out and having fun. The boys surfed a lot and we all napped, read, listened to music, swam, took long walks, ate and ate and ate some more. On Wednesday morning we decided to take the big blow up pool dinosaur (we brought this along for the pool- it didn’t come with the house) out to the waves. “Dyno” was a little worse for the wear when we got done, but it sure was fun and since he only cost ¢5000 (about $10), we didn’t care. Riding the dinosaur may have been the highlight of our trip. Ha ha.. just kidding. Actually, the highlight of our trip was our bonfire on the beach the last night there.. We gathered up drift-wood (which is abundant in Playa Hermosa) and dug a hole in the sand with the shovel we found in the storage shed. We placed the wood in the hole, laid out a blanket, broke out the guitar and spent the evening of the Winter Solstice (which was December 21st this year) singing songs around the campfire in front of the ocean under the stars- it was heavenly. What a great trip! We plan to make it a family tradition now that two of our family are away in the States and in another 2 years Jade and Dustin will also head for the US to do their graduate studies. We hope to stay at Albacore again someday- it was absolutely perfect. Thanks for the memories! Lynette, Alejandra, Derek, Dustin, Jade and Chase -and- Tobias and Edgar- who visited us during our stay.. " - Lynette Garet, 12/29/05(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"Hi Paul, Our trip was great and your home was everything I had expected and more. Your home is perfectly located and the tips you gave us were very helpful. We are pretty adventurous in our own way, but we certainly would have missed some very local spots. Our favorite restaurant was the Jungle Surf-by far they had the best food-(we ate there 3 times)The backyard was fun and Claritas was also one we really enjoyed. Hotel Tangeri restaurant was not on the list, but we ate there for breakfast and for lunch.(chicken with jalapeno cream sauce was very good) Their breakfast was less expensive and better (I thought) than the Sunrise. The pool is very nice and well designed-having traveled to Mexico several times, I was very impressed with the workmanship of the Costa Ricans. You might mention in your tips to bring binoculars. There was quite a show of different birds the last morning we were there behind your house. Also wanted to mention that the Tico's (Costa Ricans) that work for you were great. The boys and Israel had a great time. They work and keep the place looking great and are very personable. Teri (your hospitality person) was a lot of help and very nice as well. You have a great setup for guests. Costa Rica is a beautiful country and a week is not long enough especially with 2 days of travel. There is so much to do and see. We have done a lot of traveling, and Costa Rica is definitely a country to return to. Oh, one more thing to add to your tips. When you arrive at the airport, you can pay the departure tax upon arrival and not have to pay and stand in line when you leave-this saves a lot of time when leaving. Thank you for everything and I wish you and your family a very nice holiday. Sincerely, Lezlie " - Lezlie Turrichi, 12/19/05(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"We had a great time in Hermosa. We love the house, and the location is ideal. We were surprised at the amount of wildlife behind the house, including birds, iguanas and a large group of monkeys. As for the surfing, we couldn't have had it better - waking up to an awesome surf break all to ourselves. The house is just far enough from Jaco - close enough to go to the restaurants and bars, but far enough for peace and quiet. We had everything we needed. You have done an excellent job in setting up the place! All in all, it was an amazing trip - We are already trying to figure out when we can return. " - David Estis, Glendale, CA, 09/20/05(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"I would like to HIGHLY recommend staying at the Albacore House on Hermosa Beach. I was there for 2 weeks with my daughters in July 2005 and had a marvelous time. The house is VERY lovely and the owners were friendly and helpful. The local management team were responsive and accommodating....and spoke English! There is a fantastic view of the ocean from the upper deck...my favorite place to sit in the morning and watch the waves and surfers. Also caught some amazing sunsets and lightning storms up there. The beautiful black sand beach was always empty and felt like a private beach. The pool was being built during our stay (which made for affordable rates)...but I can't wait to come back and stay here when it is done... I know it will add beauty and fun to the house. Just down the road is Playa Hermosa, which has several delicious restaurants and we got to watch a world class surfing competition there. And Jaco is only a short drive, which has plenty of restaurants, shops, and night life. Then there are the FUN stuff to do...Canopy tours on zip lines, ATV riding, garden and park touring, Boating, Surfing, etc., etc., all close by in the area. The house is loaded with all the kitchen amenities needed to cook some fabulous meals. The fruit and seafood are awesome here in Costa Rica....and CHEAP! And the local people were extremely friendly and courteous. With all the fun activities and beautiful sights, good food, warm ocean, private beaches, amazing wild life...Costa Rica has become a favorite vacation place for our family. We miss it and hope to return to Albacore House SOON! This place feels like Home! Susan Donivan " - Susan Donivan, Sebastopol, CA, 08/08/05(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)

"The beach Albacore is on is a great surfing beach. Just 3 miles north is the Jaco beach which has smaller waves, so whatever your level there is a beach for you. The restaurants in Jaco are very good and numerous. Don't forget some of the best restaurants are right up the beach in Playa Hermosa. Take advantage of the fresh fish salesmen that comes on a regular basis. Excellent and cheap. Do not forget Manuel Antonio National Park. It's one of Costa Rica's best. We love Pura Vida Gardens too! We often camp out on the elevated deck which has 360% views. The pool is gorgeous. Many renters says our pictures do not do Albacore justice, but what can we do? You have to be there to really appreciate it!" - Paul Edwards, Los Angeles, CA, 04/24/05(HomeAwayConnect Guestbook Entry)


'Like' us on
Facebook
Copyright © 2004-2019, VRconnection. All Rights Reserved. Please read our disclaimer and privacy policy. Follow us on
Twitter