Own or manage a vacation home? We can help!
    Click here to login | Smartphone?
Search or listing #:
Browse > USA > California > Central Coast Vacation Rentals
VRconnection#3480


Vacation Rental Photos
Calla Lill...Bedroom
Sweet beau...View from ...
KitchenLiving roo...
BathroomLiving Roo...
Living roo...Sofanya's ...
Photo 12Carabella'...
Photo 14My Redwood...
Garapata B...

Calla Lilly Cottage in Big Sur Redwoods (cottage in front of the Dome House)


USA/California/Central Coast/Big Sur Vacation Rental


1 bedroom, 1 bath vacation cottage sleeps 4 (1 queen/1 full sofa bed)


Comments From Guests of CallaLilly

"My friend and I stayed here for a wedding weekend in Big Sur. The cottage is a well appointed, peaceful spot in the middle of the forest. It's a lovely spot to go off the grid, read a book, play a board game, and get a good night of sleep. Thanks, Sofanya!" - Hailey, 6/01/2019 (AirBnB Review)

"Expect a long drive, a beautiful time of relaxation, and don't forget to bring food with you!" - Derrick, 5/01/2019 (AirBnB Review)

Derrick....Good idea to bring food! You may not want to leave once you're here. I hope you enjoyed and will be back! Sofanya

"Sofanya's cottage was a lovely place to relax and get away from the city. I've never been anywhere quite like it! Would highly recommend staying here." - Kristopher, 5/01/2019 (AirBnB Review)

Thank you Kristopher! Yes the Calla Lilly Cottage is so sweet and restful.... I look forward to hosting your next visit!

"Charming cabin in the woods! Sofanya was amazing (communicative, friendly, helpful, etc.). Great place for a quiet escape and quick access to all the coastline has to offer. We’ll be back!" - Lisa, 5/01/2019 (AirBnB Review)

Lisa I'm so pleased that you enjoyed being here! I so appreciate your presence here and for being such a lovely guest. Please come stay here again soon! Sofanya

"Where should I start? The beautiful ride to the entrance, the cute garden just before you enter a cozy charming cabin, the awesome fireplace, the little touches that make you want to curl up on the sofa and spend some quality time with your significant other? Sofanya has created such an amazing place because she is an amazing host and a talented artist! Highly recommend this place." - Gevork, 5/01/2019 (AirBnB Review)

Thank you Gevork! You were awesome guests and I so appreciate you. Please come back soon.....and stay a little longer if you can! Warmly, Sofanya

"I don't even know where to begin. Sofanya is wonderful. My oldest granddaughter, my sister, niece and I stayed in the cozy Calla Lily Cottage. Although it is a funky old cabin with a wood stove and may not be everybody's cup of tea, we found it comfortable and charming! In fact, the entire premises is enchanting tucked away as it is up a winding road in a Redwood forest. The location was perfect and just a short drive north to Carmel or south to Big Sur, with mile after mile of the most gorgeous CA coastline between! Even though the weather was cold, rainy, windy and muddy much of the time, we had a wonderful visit and I can't wait to go back with my other granddaughter. Maybe the best thing about the place is Sofanya herself. She is warm, welcoming and simply delightful. Her artwork is as enchanting as she is. My granddaughter and I are both artists and took a 2 hour art session with Sofanya. It was so much fun and I know my other granddaughter, also an artist, will love it as much as we did. I can't wait to go back again to Sofanya's magical world!" - Kathleen, 5/01/2019 (AirBnB Review)

Kathleen and her beautiful Grand Daughter were such amazing guests. From the moment we said hello it felt like an instant friendship. We had some wonderful discussion and a painting session where they both made the most vibrant brilliant art! I'm looking forward to their next visit and of course recommend them as guests! They were so respectful, kind and left the cottage in perfect shape.

"The JITF is an incredible property that I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a relaxing getaway surrounded by stunning natural beauty and a comfortable space." - Alex, 4/01/2019 (AirBnB Review)

Thank you for your loving appreciation....lots of thankfulness around here! Please know you're very welcome here....a home away from home! Sofanya

"Sofanya is an amazing host and her Jewel in the Forest is truly that - a secluded, special place deep in the woods surrounded by redwood trees, ferns and (of course) calla lillies! The Calla Lilly cottage is perfect for a couple looking for a unique place to retreat and reflect by the fire after taking in all the beauty of Big Sur. The secluded courtyard also offered a nice private place to have a glass of wine and tune into nature. Travelers will definitely want to print and bring the house rules in the car with them and have the address ready to go a few hours away in your GPS as the home is well off the beaten path and even the winding CA-1 roads leading in lack service. Thank you Sonfanya - We hope to return someday soon!" - Katie, 4/01/2019 (AirBnB Review)

"fantastic location and hospitality. plenty of extra touches most air bb owners leave out. tucked in the redwoods close to the ocean. primitive and rustic with charm and love in every corner." - Martin, 4/01/2019 (AirBnB Review)

Thank you Martin for being such a wonderful guest and for your kind appreciation for all we do our best to offer. Please feel welcome to return! Sofanya

"incredible place!" - Marcin, 4/01/2019 (AirBnB Review)

Yayyy!!! Thank you....visit again please! Sofanya

"Sofanya has a great little cottage in a redwood grove right outside of Carmel. The cottage has a ton of character and rustic charm. The location is also great to launch activities from as it is 20 minutes from Carmel and 20 minutes from Big Sur. Would definitely stay here again." - George, 3/01/2019 (AirBnB Review)

"Sofanya is a wonderful host and the cottage was so perfect for our weekend getaway. Waking up in the redwoods was just as magical as the other reviews suggest and the cottage had everything we needed to prepare some meals and stay warm! We definitely hope to be back here for another stay sometime soon!" - Benjamin, 3/01/2019 (AirBnB Review)

I'm so blessed to meet and have guests like you Ben! Please visit again any time! Sofanya

"A truly special place." - Ari, 2/01/2019 (AirBnB Review)

"Sofanya was super nice and helpful! My favorite touch were the art supplies -- we had great fun painting. Thank you again for such a good experience. I hope to make another such trip in the near future :)" - Yuliana, 2/01/2019 (AirBnB Review)

"Wonderful place if you want to disconnect a few days from society and technology" - Philip, 12/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"A great place to retreat and relax. The house was equipped with everything we needed, and more. We would definitely stay there again." - Gabriela, 12/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"The character and charm of this rustic historic property make it a real neat place to stay. The price is high for the condition of the accommodations (very rustic/basic) but the Big Sur location and the charm make it an enjoyable experience. To get the full experience be sure to make use of the wood stove (even cook on it) and do some painting. Also the outdoor area has a stage for kids to perform their magic. The drive up the valley is super cool too!!" - Jeffrey, 12/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"A hidden gem within the woods. Sofanya's hospitality is fantastic, she's communicative, and very helpful. Come here if you want to relax and get away from the technology that consumes our daily lives. Plus, very close to all the fun stops in Big Sur and Carmel." - Alex, 12/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"Beautiful and remote. The feeling inside looking up through the skylights at night with the fire going ... hard to get better than that." - Kelly, 11/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

I'm so happy you were able to enjoy the skylights.....I know it's quite an experience to watch the moon and stars from there! Please visit again! Sofanya

"This cabin was really a unique spot tucked away in the woods, just what we were looking for in terms of quiet and beauty. The only thing we weren't prepared for was how cold the space was. There isn't any flooring or wall insulation, so our feet were really cold. Be sure to bring slippers with you. We absolutely loved the wood burning stove in the living area and had ample fire wood for our stay, but we did have to move around the space heaters to supplement a bit. Otherwise Sofanya was really sweet and accommodating, we'd definitely recommend visiting her cabins!" - Dawn, 11/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"This place is a gem. We wish we could’ve stayed longer." - Donna, 11/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"Such a beautiful setting hosted by a gifted host. I just love the trees. In twenty minutes either way you can be in Big Sur or Carmel and when you return to the Jewel you are lost in a forest of Redwoods. Very cool. Definitely give Sofanya a call if you want a relaxing and renewing experience." - David, 10/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

You were wonderful guests and I so appreciate your friendliness and leaving my cottage in such good and clean condition. I LOVED your paintings...yaaayyyy! I look forward to future visits. Sofanya

"Sofanya gave us a beautiful escape in the woods. Would definitely recommend this to other people to escape!" - Aron, 10/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

Aron you were great perfect and wonderful guests.....thank you! You're welcome here any time!

"Your stay at Sofanya’s place will be peaceful, healing and restful! This cabin in the woods took me back to my childhood where I played with nature and had real human interaction. My husband and I were on our 5 year honeymoon (a new tradition we have started) and found Sofanya’s place. We had such a wonderful time reading books with a fire stove going, talking about our relationship and our kids and life. This is a great place to disconnect from all the distractions of everyday day life including WiFi and social media and emails. You will get the best sleep ever and wake up ready to either enjoy the forest or head out to enjoy Carmel which is a short 15-20 minute drive. Sofanya was great with her communication, her accommodations and her spirit is beautiful! Thank you for everything, we will be back with our kiddos very soon!" - Elsa And Taylor, 9/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"If your looking for a truly authentic emerging experience with California and Big Sur, this is the place! Close to everything we wanted to visit and do. The cabin is tucked into a Redwood forest that just made our jaws drop. Epic views and an amazing place to get away and recharge. Our host Sophonya was amazing. Extremely nice and welcoming with helpful advice for dinner and spectacular views of the sunset. We wish we just had more time to stay." - Gabriel, 9/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

I hope that you'll come back again and stay longer! Wonderful guests and it's such a joy to host such lovely humans! Sofanya

"Beautiful wooden house in the woods, magical atmosphere and brilliant host. It is a great choice to relax and visit Big Sur" - Maria, 8/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"Wonderful and kind host, who was very communicative! The cabin was so nice, secluded, and cozy. Thanks for the wonderful stay!" - Lee, 7/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"Sofanya’s place is perfect for a family looking to disconnect for a few days. Amazing wooded location less than a mile from the coast. A great private courtyard that our young daughter really enjoyed. Was bright and warm during the day, and cozy during the night. We will definitely stay here again." - James, 7/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"Fantastic dream land!" - Heesook, 7/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"This treasure of a hideaway is in a magical redwood forest. It’s surreal! If you want a real nature experience, you can’t do better than Sofayna’s." - Rachel, 5/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

Thank you Rachel...I love that you enjoyed! Yes it is surreal...Big Sur Real! It's a pleasure to host such a wonderful guest!

"My husband and I stayed for two nights in Sofanya's Calla Lily Cottage. The surrounding locations were breathtaking and just what we were looking for in our trip. The cottage itself was adorable, cozy, and perfect for the two of us, being pregnant and having the kitchen with all the utensils and cookware available made us feel right at home! We had privacy and were able to easily find Sofanya when we needed to discuss our wedding plans. Sofanya was the officiant for our private ceremony, held on her property among the trees at the beautiful alter. We are so happy we found this beautiful place and our new friend Sofanya and her sweet pooch Star Lily. We plan to return next summer with our children so they can experience the peace of being at home, nestled in nature. <3" - Sarah, 4/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

Dear David & Sarah.... It was truly a joy and a blessing to host your stay especially for such a beautiful special occasion. I am honored to have officiate your Marriage Ceremony at the Sanctuary in the Redwoods! It was such a joy all around and thank you for that! Looking forward to your Family visit next year....we can continue to celebrate LIFE & LOVE! Sofanya

"We really enjoyed our stay at Cassa Lilly. The location is a really good spot being well positioned to either jump into Big Sur or pop over to Carmel or Monterey. It's really peaceful and a great place to get away from it all, we loved cosying up by the log fire of an evening. Sofayan was very welcoming, and Caretaker Kate did a really good job of the logistics!" - Louise, 4/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

Thank you Louise! It's a pleasure to know that you were able to enjoy and appreciate this lovely place on earth! You were a wonderful guest and you are welcome to return! Sofanya

"An amazing, magical forest fairytale. Peaceful, quiet, serene. We LOVED our stay here. A true gem. A great retreat from our daily busyness that was so much needed and appreciated!" - Jessika, 4/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

Aw I love that....'magical forest fairytale'! We all need to feel some of that 'magic' in our Life. Good for you for making a choice where you were able to slow down and just be in it! I would love to welcome you again when you're ready for another visit to this magical peaceful retreat. Sofanya

"I stayed here with three friends for a birthday trip and is was amazing. The cabin was so cute and perfect! The location is unreal and I felt like I was truly in touch with nature. I really loved that I got no cellphone service because not being connected is needed. I will for sure be coming back here again!" - Jasmine, 3/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"The Calla Lilly cottage is the ideal place to connect with nature, fellow travelers, and yourself! The location in the forest is idyllic and the cottage is well equipped for a comfortable stay. Directions and local tips were thorough and appreciated. We loved the coziness of the space and the way it really integrated with the surroundings. Highly recommend to come here as a way to disconnect from the fray of everyday life and engage in a meaningful way with the natural beauty of the Carmel and Big Sur areas. Thank you for a memorable and rejuvenating stay!" - Benjamin, 3/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

It is our pleasure to host your visit and thank you for being such a great guest! I appreciate what your wrote about the lovely cottage....I'm so happy to share this magical space. Please visit again! Sofanya

"Sofanya's cottage was beautiful, and the location was perfect for spending a couple days in Big Sur. She and Kate were incredibly responsive, and the place was everything we expected and more. Thanks so much!" - Geoff, 3/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

Geoff....you're a wonderful guest and thank you for choosing to stay here! You're so welcome to visit again! Sofanya

"Sofanya was an amazing host, she was there for our every needs and is such a kind soul. An amazing energy to her and an incredible artist. The property was everything we had expected and some." - Christopher, 2/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"Amazing place if you are looking for a real getaway. It's close enough to all the major attractions but secluded enough to feel like you're really 'getting away.' My husband and I originally had booked the Calla Lilly cottage but were informed that we'd be upgrated due to an issue in the home. We were offered a stay at the Jasmine House and it was a great experience. Kate, the woman who oversees the property, was very communivative and friendly. Thanks again for the accomodations!" - Okairy, 2/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"The location was beautiful, as depicted in the photos. The cabin was homey, well kept, cozy. They stocked up the firewood which was great during our stay since it was so chilly outside. There were plenty of blankets, and Kate (caretaker) provided us with two space heaters in the bedroom and the bathroom. She even turned it on before our arrival to ensure we'd be comfortable upon arrival. The space is adorable with a perfect ambiance for a mini creative retreat. The skylight allowed gorgeous natural light in during the day, and the lamps around the cabin set a great evening tone. Kate stayed on the property while we were there, so she was reachable with any questions we had during our stay. She even was so kind to drive my make up bag up to Monterey when she realized I left it there. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay! Hope to check out the Dome House next time!" - Hannah, 2/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"Enjoyed the peace and quiet of the redwood forest." - Catherine, 1/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"Cozy, ideal Big Sur/Carmel get away. Very fantastical under the redwoods along the coolest residential area on the peninsula" - Loren, 1/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"Wir hatten 2 wunderschöne Tage in diesem kleinen Haus im Hinterland von Big Sur. Sehr zu empfehlen. Insbesondere die Staffelei und Malsachen waren bei den Kindern der Hit. :)" - Felix, 1/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"Awesome location! Perfect relaxing get away with friends. We adventured Big Sur, Carmel, and Monterey." - Amanda, 1/01/2018 (AirBnB Review)

"My friend from Korea and I, we loved our stay at this cute little cottage - the skylight in the living room, the cozy front with lilies and especially the art toolkit! I haven't use them since high school! Would love to visit again in summer which would be great for hike. It was the whole package." - Munjung, 12/01/2017 (AirBnB Review)

Thank you Munjung! I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your time here and welcome a visit another time as well. Sofanya

"If you want to stay in a private, relaxing and magical cottage tucked away in the redwoods, come no further!" - Caitlin, 12/01/2017 (AirBnB Review)

"Totally inspirational location." - Jennifer, 12/01/2017 (AirBnB Review)

"This was our second stay at the magical Calla Lily and honestly it is heartbreakingly painful to leave! The magic of the house, the fire, the property, the land, how close it is to the natural perfection of Big Sur, how we force ourselves to take a break from technology and the news and just sit and read, paint, enjoy each others company---these are all lessons and reminders to take back with us into our daily lives! Thank you Calla Lily house for filling us with stillness and inspiration, and thank you to the amazing Sofanya for the AMAZING art session the morning of our departure. It made re-entry into the world a little more bearable :) Can't wait to be back at the Jewel in the Forest!!" - Emery, 12/01/2017 (AirBnB Review)

"This is a magical hideaway tucked away in the redwoods, but close enough to hikes, site-seeing, and all the treasures of Big Sur. Sofanya was a wonderful host, and the property manager made sure we had everything we needed. They even included an easel and canvas so we could paint! Charming! This is a great private getaway that offers connection to others on the property if you’re a more social breed. Something for everyone. I highly recommend it! ♥️" - Suzi, 12/01/2017 (AirBnB Review)

"Sofanya's place was in a great location right in the heart of Big Sur. Communication was very clear and quick. Would definitely visit again when we come back to the area. Thank you!" - Jennifer, 11/01/2017 (AirBnB Review)

"We’ve stayed at Jewel in the Forest many times now. This is where we got married and this last trip was extra special because we took our 7 month old daughter. Sofanya was very accommodating and even had a pack n play ready for us to use! There were also art supplies which made for a very relaxing and fun time- wine, painting and redwoods, what else can you ask for? The place is equipped with both bath towels and beach towels as well as anything you need to make a nice warm cooked meal! The bed and bedding was also very comfy. And last but not least, our favorite is the wood burning stove heater! Can’t wait to visit again!" - David, 11/01/2017 (AirBnB Review)

Dear Laura & David.... I hope you know how special you are to me and now with your adorable baby girl! I really look forward to your next visit and thank you for your loving and beautiful presence here. This is what makes this place shine with love and light. Wishing you many continued Blessings in the coming year....and beyond! Love, Sofanya


'Like' us on
Facebook
Copyright © 2004-2019, VRconnection. All Rights Reserved. Please read our disclaimer and privacy policy. Follow us on
Twitter